aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorBorislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>2017-11-17 15:30:38 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-11-17 16:10:04 -0800
commit4efb442cc12eb66535b7c7ed06005fd7889c1d77 (patch)
treec626168bb985cd919dd496229e6cd86ffbfd7818
parentpid: remove pidhash (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-4efb442cc12eb66535b7c7ed06005fd7889c1d77.tar.xz
linux-dev-4efb442cc12eb66535b7c7ed06005fd7889c1d77.zip
kernel/panic.c: add TAINT_AUX
This is the gist of a patch which we've been forward-porting in our kernels for a long time now and it probably would make a good sense to have such TAINT_AUX flag upstream which can be used by each distro etc, how they see fit. This way, we won't need to forward-port a distro-only version indefinitely. Add an auxiliary taint flag to be used by distros and others. This obviates the need to forward-port whatever internal solutions people have in favor of a single flag which they can map arbitrarily to a definition of their pleasing. The "X" mnemonic could also mean eXternal, which would be taint from a distro or something else but not the upstream kernel. We will use it to mark modules for which we don't provide support. I.e., a really eXternal module. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170911134533.dp5mtyku5bongx4c@pd.tnic Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Jessica Yu <jeyu@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Jeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--include/linux/kernel.h3
-rw-r--r--kernel/panic.c2
2 files changed, 4 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/kernel.h b/include/linux/kernel.h
index 4b484ab9e163..ce51455e2adf 100644
--- a/include/linux/kernel.h
+++ b/include/linux/kernel.h
@@ -549,7 +549,8 @@ extern enum system_states {
#define TAINT_UNSIGNED_MODULE 13
#define TAINT_SOFTLOCKUP 14
#define TAINT_LIVEPATCH 15
-#define TAINT_FLAGS_COUNT 16
+#define TAINT_AUX 16
+#define TAINT_FLAGS_COUNT 17
struct taint_flag {
char c_true; /* character printed when tainted */
diff --git a/kernel/panic.c b/kernel/panic.c
index 3242b64b1956..2cfef408fec9 100644
--- a/kernel/panic.c
+++ b/kernel/panic.c
@@ -324,6 +324,7 @@ const struct taint_flag taint_flags[TAINT_FLAGS_COUNT] = {
{ 'E', ' ', true }, /* TAINT_UNSIGNED_MODULE */
{ 'L', ' ', false }, /* TAINT_SOFTLOCKUP */
{ 'K', ' ', true }, /* TAINT_LIVEPATCH */
+ { 'X', ' ', true }, /* TAINT_AUX */
};
/**
@@ -345,6 +346,7 @@ const struct taint_flag taint_flags[TAINT_FLAGS_COUNT] = {
* 'E' - Unsigned module has been loaded.
* 'L' - A soft lockup has previously occurred.
* 'K' - Kernel has been live patched.
+ * 'X' - Auxiliary taint, for distros' use.
*
* The string is overwritten by the next call to print_tainted().
*/