aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-11 23:29:31 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-12 10:04:01 -0700
commit42b46aeff2e366bad54bd1c069b7b5381d9be8b3 (patch)
tree75a3988295187d47e05aa63cf1e7b64a3c96a7be
parentmemblock: memblock_phys_alloc(): don't panic (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-42b46aeff2e366bad54bd1c069b7b5381d9be8b3.tar.xz
linux-dev-42b46aeff2e366bad54bd1c069b7b5381d9be8b3.zip
memblock: drop __memblock_alloc_base()
The __memblock_alloc_base() function tries to allocate a memory up to the limit specified by its max_addr parameter. Depending on the value of this parameter, the __memblock_alloc_base() can is replaced with the appropriate memblock_phys_alloc*() variant. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-9-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Acked-by: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky] Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen] Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/kernel/machine_kexec.c3
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kernel/e820.c2
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/numa.c12
-rw-r--r--drivers/of/of_reserved_mem.c7
-rw-r--r--include/linux/memblock.h2
-rw-r--r--mm/memblock.c9
6 files changed, 11 insertions, 24 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sh/kernel/machine_kexec.c b/arch/sh/kernel/machine_kexec.c
index b9f9f1a5afdc..63d63a36f6f2 100644
--- a/arch/sh/kernel/machine_kexec.c
+++ b/arch/sh/kernel/machine_kexec.c
@@ -168,7 +168,8 @@ void __init reserve_crashkernel(void)
crash_size = PAGE_ALIGN(resource_size(&crashk_res));
if (!crashk_res.start) {
unsigned long max = memblock_end_of_DRAM() - memory_limit;
- crashk_res.start = __memblock_alloc_base(crash_size, PAGE_SIZE, max);
+ crashk_res.start = memblock_phys_alloc_range(crash_size,
+ PAGE_SIZE, 0, max);
if (!crashk_res.start) {
pr_err("crashkernel allocation failed\n");
goto disable;
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/e820.c b/arch/x86/kernel/e820.c
index a687d10da417..5203ee4e6435 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/e820.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/e820.c
@@ -775,7 +775,7 @@ u64 __init e820__memblock_alloc_reserved(u64 size, u64 align)
{
u64 addr;
- addr = __memblock_alloc_base(size, align, MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE);
+ addr = memblock_phys_alloc(size, align);
if (addr) {
e820__range_update_kexec(addr, size, E820_TYPE_RAM, E820_TYPE_RESERVED);
pr_info("update e820_table_kexec for e820__memblock_alloc_reserved()\n");
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/numa.c b/arch/x86/mm/numa.c
index 12c1b7a83ed7..dfb6c4df639a 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/numa.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/numa.c
@@ -195,15 +195,11 @@ static void __init alloc_node_data(int nid)
* Allocate node data. Try node-local memory and then any node.
* Never allocate in DMA zone.
*/
- nd_pa = memblock_phys_alloc_nid(nd_size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES, nid);
+ nd_pa = memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid(nd_size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES, nid);
if (!nd_pa) {
- nd_pa = __memblock_alloc_base(nd_size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES,
- MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE);
- if (!nd_pa) {
- pr_err("Cannot find %zu bytes in any node (initial node: %d)\n",
- nd_size, nid);
- return;
- }
+ pr_err("Cannot find %zu bytes in any node (initial node: %d)\n",
+ nd_size, nid);
+ return;
}
nd = __va(nd_pa);
diff --git a/drivers/of/of_reserved_mem.c b/drivers/of/of_reserved_mem.c
index e773063c6de9..8c07d7da5256 100644
--- a/drivers/of/of_reserved_mem.c
+++ b/drivers/of/of_reserved_mem.c
@@ -31,13 +31,10 @@ static int __init early_init_dt_alloc_reserved_memory_arch(phys_addr_t size,
phys_addr_t *res_base)
{
phys_addr_t base;
- /*
- * We use __memblock_alloc_base() because memblock_alloc_base()
- * panic()s on allocation failure.
- */
+
end = !end ? MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ANYWHERE : end;
align = !align ? SMP_CACHE_BYTES : align;
- base = __memblock_alloc_base(size, align, end);
+ base = memblock_phys_alloc_range(size, align, 0, end);
if (!base)
return -ENOMEM;
diff --git a/include/linux/memblock.h b/include/linux/memblock.h
index 7caecb42bfea..017aeb223b24 100644
--- a/include/linux/memblock.h
+++ b/include/linux/memblock.h
@@ -452,8 +452,6 @@ static inline bool memblock_bottom_up(void)
phys_addr_t memblock_alloc_base(phys_addr_t size, phys_addr_t align,
phys_addr_t max_addr);
-phys_addr_t __memblock_alloc_base(phys_addr_t size, phys_addr_t align,
- phys_addr_t max_addr);
phys_addr_t memblock_phys_mem_size(void);
phys_addr_t memblock_reserved_size(void);
phys_addr_t memblock_mem_size(unsigned long limit_pfn);
diff --git a/mm/memblock.c b/mm/memblock.c
index d0b76bb7340d..5b6aeb8108d9 100644
--- a/mm/memblock.c
+++ b/mm/memblock.c
@@ -1306,17 +1306,12 @@ again:
return ret;
}
-phys_addr_t __init __memblock_alloc_base(phys_addr_t size, phys_addr_t align, phys_addr_t max_addr)
-{
- return memblock_alloc_range_nid(size, align, 0, max_addr, NUMA_NO_NODE,
- MEMBLOCK_NONE);
-}
-
phys_addr_t __init memblock_alloc_base(phys_addr_t size, phys_addr_t align, phys_addr_t max_addr)
{
phys_addr_t alloc;
- alloc = __memblock_alloc_base(size, align, max_addr);
+ alloc = memblock_alloc_range_nid(size, align, 0, max_addr, NUMA_NO_NODE,
+ MEMBLOCK_NONE);
if (alloc == 0)
panic("ERROR: Failed to allocate %pa bytes below %pa.\n",