aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLuiz Capitulino <lcapitulino@redhat.com>2014-12-12 16:55:18 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2014-12-13 12:42:47 -0800
commit27ec26ecdca956a32e89a22a148f1c16b5c0becf (patch)
tree336152f8fd37d6daf5244e973947578a1708461b /Documentation
parentmemcg: turn memcg_kmem_skip_account into a bit field (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-27ec26ecdca956a32e89a22a148f1c16b5c0becf.tar.xz
linux-dev-27ec26ecdca956a32e89a22a148f1c16b5c0becf.zip
hugetlb: fix hugepages= entry in kernel-parameters.txt
The hugepages= entry in kernel-parameters.txt states that 1GB pages can only be allocated at boot time and not freed afterwards. This is not true since commit 944d9fec8d7a ("hugetlb: add support for gigantic page allocation at runtime"), at least for x86_64. Instead of adding arch-specifc observations to the hugepages= entry, this commit just drops the out of date information. Further information about arch-specific support and available features can be obtained in the hugetlb documentation. Signed-off-by: Luiz Capitulino <lcapitulino@redhat.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Yasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net> Acked-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt4
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt b/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
index eacb2e0397ae..24539d1c7d25 100644
--- a/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
+++ b/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
@@ -1228,9 +1228,7 @@ bytes respectively. Such letter suffixes can also be entirely omitted.
multiple times interleaved with hugepages= to reserve
huge pages of different sizes. Valid pages sizes on
x86-64 are 2M (when the CPU supports "pse") and 1G
- (when the CPU supports the "pdpe1gb" cpuinfo flag)
- Note that 1GB pages can only be allocated at boot time
- using hugepages= and not freed afterwards.
+ (when the CPU supports the "pdpe1gb" cpuinfo flag).
hvc_iucv= [S390] Number of z/VM IUCV hypervisor console (HVC)
terminal devices. Valid values: 0..8