aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>2018-08-21 21:56:00 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-08-22 10:52:47 -0700
commit271ca788774aaef9ca4c372573122cc4548cd401 (patch)
treec39d5e66fc60bb376ce76abd7dc80aebd49759ef /arch/Kconfig
parentspelling.txt: add more spellings to spelling.txt (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-271ca788774aaef9ca4c372573122cc4548cd401.tar.xz
linux-dev-271ca788774aaef9ca4c372573122cc4548cd401.zip
arch: enable relative relocations for arm64, power and x86
Patch series "add support for relative references in special sections", v10. This adds support for emitting special sections such as initcall arrays, PCI fixups and tracepoints as relative references rather than absolute references. This reduces the size by 50% on 64-bit architectures, but more importantly, it removes the need for carrying relocation metadata for these sections in relocatable kernels (e.g., for KASLR) that needs to be fixed up at boot time. On arm64, this reduces the vmlinux footprint of such a reference by 8x (8 byte absolute reference + 24 byte RELA entry vs 4 byte relative reference) Patch #3 was sent out before as a single patch. This series supersedes the previous submission. This version makes relative ksymtab entries dependent on the new Kconfig symbol HAVE_ARCH_PREL32_RELOCATIONS rather than trying to infer from kbuild test robot replies for which architectures it should be blacklisted. Patch #1 introduces the new Kconfig symbol HAVE_ARCH_PREL32_RELOCATIONS, and sets it for the main architectures that are expected to benefit the most from this feature, i.e., 64-bit architectures or ones that use runtime relocations. Patch #2 add support for #define'ing __DISABLE_EXPORTS to get rid of ksymtab/kcrctab sections in decompressor and EFI stub objects when rebuilding existing C files to run in a different context. Patches #4 - #6 implement relative references for initcalls, PCI fixups and tracepoints, respectively, all of which produce sections with order ~1000 entries on an arm64 defconfig kernel with tracing enabled. This means we save about 28 KB of vmlinux space for each of these patches. [From the v7 series blurb, which included the jump_label patches as well]: For the arm64 kernel, all patches combined reduce the memory footprint of vmlinux by about 1.3 MB (using a config copied from Ubuntu that has KASLR enabled), of which ~1 MB is the size reduction of the RELA section in .init, and the remaining 300 KB is reduction of .text/.data. This patch (of 6): Before updating certain subsystems to use place relative 32-bit relocations in special sections, to save space and reduce the number of absolute relocations that need to be processed at runtime by relocatable kernels, introduce the Kconfig symbol and define it for some architectures that should be able to support and benefit from it. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180704083651.24360-2-ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Acked-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Reviewed-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com> Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org> Cc: Nicolas Pitre <nico@linaro.org> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>, Cc: James Morris <james.morris@microsoft.com> Cc: Jessica Yu <jeyu@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--arch/Kconfig10
1 files changed, 10 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/Kconfig b/arch/Kconfig
index c6148166a7b4..4426e9687d89 100644
--- a/arch/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/Kconfig
@@ -841,6 +841,16 @@ config REFCOUNT_FULL
against various use-after-free conditions that can be used in
security flaw exploits.
+config HAVE_ARCH_PREL32_RELOCATIONS
+ bool
+ help
+ May be selected by an architecture if it supports place-relative
+ 32-bit relocations, both in the toolchain and in the module loader,
+ in which case relative references can be used in special sections
+ for PCI fixup, initcalls etc which are only half the size on 64 bit
+ architectures, and don't require runtime relocation on relocatable
+ kernels.
+
source "kernel/gcov/Kconfig"
source "scripts/gcc-plugins/Kconfig"