aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/alpha
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAtsushi Nemoto <anemo@mba.ocn.ne.jp>2006-09-30 23:28:31 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>2006-10-01 00:39:27 -0700
commit8ef386092d7c2891bd7acefb2a87f878f7e9a0d6 (patch)
treeb149f0c63f9b9bb3f43e82097f1ae5972662288f /arch/alpha
parent[PATCH] kernel/time/ntp.c: possible cleanups (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-8ef386092d7c2891bd7acefb2a87f878f7e9a0d6.tar.xz
linux-dev-8ef386092d7c2891bd7acefb2a87f878f7e9a0d6.zip
[PATCH] kill wall_jiffies
With 2.6.18-rc4-mm2, now wall_jiffies will always be the same as jiffies. So we can kill wall_jiffies completely. This is just a cleanup and logically should not change any real behavior except for one thing: RTC updating code in (old) ppc and xtensa use a condition "jiffies - wall_jiffies == 1". This condition is never met so I suppose it is just a bug. I just remove that condition only instead of kill the whole "if" block. [heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com: s390 build fix and cleanup] Signed-off-by: Atsushi Nemoto <anemo@mba.ocn.ne.jp> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata.hirokazu@renesas.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp> Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk> Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it> Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Signed-off-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/alpha')
-rw-r--r--arch/alpha/kernel/time.c15
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 10 deletions
diff --git a/arch/alpha/kernel/time.c b/arch/alpha/kernel/time.c
index 7c1e44420a78..581ddcc22fc5 100644
--- a/arch/alpha/kernel/time.c
+++ b/arch/alpha/kernel/time.c
@@ -54,8 +54,6 @@
#include "proto.h"
#include "irq_impl.h"
-extern unsigned long wall_jiffies; /* kernel/timer.c */
-
static int set_rtc_mmss(unsigned long);
DEFINE_SPINLOCK(rtc_lock);
@@ -413,7 +411,7 @@ void
do_gettimeofday(struct timeval *tv)
{
unsigned long flags;
- unsigned long sec, usec, lost, seq;
+ unsigned long sec, usec, seq;
unsigned long delta_cycles, delta_usec, partial_tick;
do {
@@ -423,14 +421,13 @@ do_gettimeofday(struct timeval *tv)
sec = xtime.tv_sec;
usec = (xtime.tv_nsec / 1000);
partial_tick = state.partial_tick;
- lost = jiffies - wall_jiffies;
} while (read_seqretry_irqrestore(&xtime_lock, seq, flags));
#ifdef CONFIG_SMP
/* Until and unless we figure out how to get cpu cycle counters
in sync and keep them there, we can't use the rpcc tricks. */
- delta_usec = lost * (1000000 / HZ);
+ delta_usec = 0;
#else
/*
* usec = cycles * ticks_per_cycle * 2**48 * 1e6 / (2**48 * ticks)
@@ -446,8 +443,7 @@ do_gettimeofday(struct timeval *tv)
*/
delta_usec = (delta_cycles * state.scaled_ticks_per_cycle
- + partial_tick
- + (lost << FIX_SHIFT)) * 15625;
+ + partial_tick) * 15625;
delta_usec = ((delta_usec / ((1UL << (FIX_SHIFT-6-1)) * HZ)) + 1) / 2;
#endif
@@ -480,12 +476,11 @@ do_settimeofday(struct timespec *tv)
time. Without this, a full-tick error is possible. */
#ifdef CONFIG_SMP
- delta_nsec = (jiffies - wall_jiffies) * (NSEC_PER_SEC / HZ);
+ delta_nsec = 0;
#else
delta_nsec = rpcc() - state.last_time;
delta_nsec = (delta_nsec * state.scaled_ticks_per_cycle
- + state.partial_tick
- + ((jiffies - wall_jiffies) << FIX_SHIFT)) * 15625;
+ + state.partial_tick) * 15625;
delta_nsec = ((delta_nsec / ((1UL << (FIX_SHIFT-6-1)) * HZ)) + 1) / 2;
delta_nsec *= 1000;
#endif