aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>2016-08-25 17:23:23 +0100
committerWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>2016-08-26 10:13:41 +0100
commit40982fd6b975de4a51ce5147bc1d698c3b075634 (patch)
tree3021aa1627232dfcd14a00dea3f031008064eb50 /arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug
parentarm64: mark reserved memblock regions explicitly in iomem (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-40982fd6b975de4a51ce5147bc1d698c3b075634.tar.xz
linux-dev-40982fd6b975de4a51ce5147bc1d698c3b075634.zip
arm64: always enable DEBUG_RODATA and remove the Kconfig option
Follow the example set by x86 in commit 9ccaf77cf05915f5 ("x86/mm: Always enable CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA and remove the Kconfig option"), and make these protections a fundamental security feature rather than an opt-in. This also results in a minor code simplification. For those rare cases when users wish to disable this protection (e.g. for debugging), this can be done by passing 'rodata=off' on the command line. As DEBUG_RODATA_ALIGN is only intended to address a performance/memory tradeoff, and does not affect correctness, this is left user-selectable. DEBUG_MODULE_RONX is also left user-selectable until the core code provides a boot-time option to disable the protection for debugging use-cases. Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Acked-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Acked-by: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug10
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 10 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug b/arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug
index 0cc758cdd0dc..b661fe742615 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug
+++ b/arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug
@@ -49,16 +49,6 @@ config DEBUG_SET_MODULE_RONX
If in doubt, say Y.
-config DEBUG_RODATA
- bool "Make kernel text and rodata read-only"
- default y
- help
- If this is set, kernel text and rodata will be made read-only. This
- is to help catch accidental or malicious attempts to change the
- kernel's executable code.
-
- If in doubt, say Y.
-
config DEBUG_ALIGN_RODATA
depends on DEBUG_RODATA
bool "Align linker sections up to SECTION_SIZE"