aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/arm64/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>2018-09-18 23:51:38 -0700
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2018-09-27 17:56:47 +0200
commitc296146c058c87e9ed53001b6a3988519dbbb6a5 (patch)
tree2b09a08e8e36f4360324624ec10e501f1d06d77e /arch/arm64/Kconfig
parentjump_label: Implement generic support for relative references (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-c296146c058c87e9ed53001b6a3988519dbbb6a5.tar.xz
linux-dev-c296146c058c87e9ed53001b6a3988519dbbb6a5.zip
arm64/kernel: jump_label: Switch to relative references
On a randomly chosen distro kernel build for arm64, vmlinux.o shows the following sections, containing jump label entries, and the associated RELA relocation records, respectively: ... [38088] __jump_table PROGBITS 0000000000000000 00e19f30 000000000002ea10 0000000000000000 WA 0 0 8 [38089] .rela__jump_table RELA 0000000000000000 01fd8bb0 000000000008be30 0000000000000018 I 38178 38088 8 ... In other words, we have 190 KB worth of 'struct jump_entry' instances, and 573 KB worth of RELA entries to relocate each entry's code, target and key members. This means the RELA section occupies 10% of the .init segment, and the two sections combined represent 5% of vmlinux's entire memory footprint. So let's switch from 64-bit absolute references to 32-bit relative references for the code and target field, and a 64-bit relative reference for the 'key' field (which may reside in another module or the core kernel, which may be more than 4 GB way on arm64 when running with KASLR enable): this reduces the size of the __jump_table by 33%, and gets rid of the RELA section entirely. Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Jessica Yu <jeyu@kernel.org> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180919065144.25010-4-ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org
Diffstat (limited to '')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/Kconfig1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm64/Kconfig b/arch/arm64/Kconfig
index 1b1a0e95c751..16e1e2c1e77b 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/arm64/Kconfig
@@ -104,6 +104,7 @@ config ARM64
select HAVE_ARCH_BITREVERSE
select HAVE_ARCH_HUGE_VMAP
select HAVE_ARCH_JUMP_LABEL
+ select HAVE_ARCH_JUMP_LABEL_RELATIVE
select HAVE_ARCH_KASAN if !(ARM64_16K_PAGES && ARM64_VA_BITS_48)
select HAVE_ARCH_KGDB
select HAVE_ARCH_MMAP_RND_BITS