aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/arm64/Makefile
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrew Pinski <apinski@cavium.com>2017-09-18 11:20:20 +0100
committerCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>2017-09-18 11:20:20 +0100
commit3d6a7b99e3fa29b92d6288487e057e0a596bd2b0 (patch)
tree954a9bf1e95bac58a2b2145589d79f509474181d /arch/arm64/Makefile
parentarm64: relax assembly code alignment from 16 byte to 4 byte (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-3d6a7b99e3fa29b92d6288487e057e0a596bd2b0.tar.xz
linux-dev-3d6a7b99e3fa29b92d6288487e057e0a596bd2b0.zip
arm64: ensure the kernel is compiled for LP64
The kernel needs to be compiled as a LP64 binary for ARM64, even when using a compiler that defaults to code-generation for the ILP32 ABI. Consequently, we need to explicitly pass '-mabi=lp64' (supported on gcc-4.9 and newer). Signed-off-by: Andrew Pinski <Andrew.Pinski@caviumnetworks.com> Signed-off-by: Philipp Tomsich <philipp.tomsich@theobroma-systems.com> Signed-off-by: Christoph Muellner <christoph.muellner@theobroma-systems.com> Signed-off-by: Yury Norov <ynorov@caviumnetworks.com> Reviewed-by: David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com> Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arm64/Makefile')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/Makefile5
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm64/Makefile b/arch/arm64/Makefile
index 9b41f1e3b1a0..939b310913cf 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/Makefile
+++ b/arch/arm64/Makefile
@@ -50,17 +50,22 @@ KBUILD_CFLAGS += -fno-asynchronous-unwind-tables
KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(call cc-option, -mpc-relative-literal-loads)
KBUILD_AFLAGS += $(lseinstr) $(brokengasinst)
+KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(call cc-option,-mabi=lp64)
+KBUILD_AFLAGS += $(call cc-option,-mabi=lp64)
+
ifeq ($(CONFIG_CPU_BIG_ENDIAN), y)
KBUILD_CPPFLAGS += -mbig-endian
CHECKFLAGS += -D__AARCH64EB__
AS += -EB
LD += -EB
+LDFLAGS += -maarch64linuxb
UTS_MACHINE := aarch64_be
else
KBUILD_CPPFLAGS += -mlittle-endian
CHECKFLAGS += -D__AARCH64EL__
AS += -EL
LD += -EL
+LDFLAGS += -maarch64linux
UTS_MACHINE := aarch64
endif