aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/arm64/kernel/signal.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorThomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>2017-06-14 18:12:02 -0700
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2017-07-08 14:05:33 +0200
commit73ac5d6a2b6ac3ae8d1e1818f3e9946f97489bc9 (patch)
tree5d2f715c0e07a23913a64b2e42ee8cc84ce5b5e6 /arch/arm64/kernel/signal.c
parentx86/syscalls: Check address limit on user-mode return (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-73ac5d6a2b6ac3ae8d1e1818f3e9946f97489bc9.tar.xz
linux-dev-73ac5d6a2b6ac3ae8d1e1818f3e9946f97489bc9.zip
arm/syscalls: Check address limit on user-mode return
Ensure the address limit is a user-mode segment before returning to user-mode. Otherwise a process can corrupt kernel-mode memory and elevate privileges [1]. The set_fs function sets the TIF_SETFS flag to force a slow path on return. In the slow path, the address limit is checked to be USER_DS if needed. The TIF_SETFS flag is added to _TIF_WORK_MASK shifting _TIF_SYSCALL_WORK for arm instruction immediate support. The global work mask is too big to used on a single instruction so adapt ret_fast_syscall. [1] https://bugs.chromium.org/p/project-zero/issues/detail?id=990 Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Miroslav Benes <mbenes@suse.cz> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com> Cc: Pratyush Anand <panand@redhat.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org> Cc: linux-api@vger.kernel.org Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170615011203.144108-2-thgarnie@google.com
Diffstat (limited to '')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions