aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/arm64/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSuzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>2017-10-06 14:16:52 +0100
committerCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>2017-10-06 16:35:21 +0100
commitc0d8832e78cbfd4a64b7112e34920af4b0b0e60e (patch)
tree88956debba4dc1034e63313220c53d0399560242 /arch/arm64/kernel
parentarm64: Use larger stacks when KASAN is selected (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-c0d8832e78cbfd4a64b7112e34920af4b0b0e60e.tar.xz
linux-dev-c0d8832e78cbfd4a64b7112e34920af4b0b0e60e.zip
arm64: Ensure the instruction emulation is ready for userspace
We trap and emulate some instructions (e.g, mrs, deprecated instructions) for the userspace. However the handlers for these are registered as late_initcalls and the userspace could be up and running from the initramfs by that time (with populate_rootfs, which is a rootfs_initcall()). This could cause problems for the early applications ending up in failure like : [ 11.152061] modprobe[93]: undefined instruction: pc=0000ffff8ca48ff4 This patch promotes the specific calls to core_initcalls, which are guaranteed to be completed before we hit userspace. Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org Cc: Dave Martin <dave.martin@arm.com> Cc: Matthias Brugger <mbrugger@suse.com> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com> Reported-by: Matwey V. Kornilov <matwey.kornilov@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arm64/kernel')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/kernel/armv8_deprecated.c2
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c2
2 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/armv8_deprecated.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/armv8_deprecated.c
index f0e6d717885b..d06fbe4cd38d 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/armv8_deprecated.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/armv8_deprecated.c
@@ -649,4 +649,4 @@ static int __init armv8_deprecated_init(void)
return 0;
}
-late_initcall(armv8_deprecated_init);
+core_initcall(armv8_deprecated_init);
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
index cd52d365d1f0..21e2c95d24e7 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
@@ -1307,4 +1307,4 @@ static int __init enable_mrs_emulation(void)
return 0;
}
-late_initcall(enable_mrs_emulation);
+core_initcall(enable_mrs_emulation);