aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/arm64/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>2017-07-21 14:25:33 +0100
committerMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>2017-08-15 18:36:04 +0100
commite3067861ba6650a566a6273738c23c956ad55c02 (patch)
tree95c523e8bbb75e883b02e659481fa9557f2e56e6 /arch/arm64/kernel
parentarm64: use an irq stack pointer (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-e3067861ba6650a566a6273738c23c956ad55c02.tar.xz
linux-dev-e3067861ba6650a566a6273738c23c956ad55c02.zip
arm64: add basic VMAP_STACK support
This patch enables arm64 to be built with vmap'd task and IRQ stacks. As vmap'd stacks are mapped at page granularity, stacks must be a multiple of PAGE_SIZE. This means that a 64K page kernel must use stacks of at least 64K in size. To minimize the increase in Image size, IRQ stacks are dynamically allocated at boot time, rather than embedding the boot CPU's IRQ stack in the kernel image. This patch was co-authored by Ard Biesheuvel and Mark Rutland. Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Tested-by: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arm64/kernel')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/kernel/irq.c30
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S2
2 files changed, 29 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/irq.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/irq.c
index 5141282e47d5..713561e5bcab 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/irq.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/irq.c
@@ -23,15 +23,15 @@
#include <linux/kernel_stat.h>
#include <linux/irq.h>
+#include <linux/memory.h>
#include <linux/smp.h>
#include <linux/init.h>
#include <linux/irqchip.h>
#include <linux/seq_file.h>
+#include <linux/vmalloc.h>
unsigned long irq_err_count;
-/* irq stack only needs to be 16 byte aligned - not IRQ_STACK_SIZE aligned. */
-DEFINE_PER_CPU(unsigned long [IRQ_STACK_SIZE/sizeof(long)], irq_stack) __aligned(16);
DEFINE_PER_CPU(unsigned long *, irq_stack_ptr);
int arch_show_interrupts(struct seq_file *p, int prec)
@@ -51,6 +51,31 @@ void __init set_handle_irq(void (*handle_irq)(struct pt_regs *))
handle_arch_irq = handle_irq;
}
+#ifdef CONFIG_VMAP_STACK
+static void init_irq_stacks(void)
+{
+ int cpu;
+ unsigned long *p;
+
+ for_each_possible_cpu(cpu) {
+ /*
+ * To ensure that VMAP'd stack overflow detection works
+ * correctly, the IRQ stacks need to have the same
+ * alignment as other stacks.
+ */
+ p = __vmalloc_node_range(IRQ_STACK_SIZE, THREAD_ALIGN,
+ VMALLOC_START, VMALLOC_END,
+ THREADINFO_GFP, PAGE_KERNEL,
+ 0, cpu_to_node(cpu),
+ __builtin_return_address(0));
+
+ per_cpu(irq_stack_ptr, cpu) = p;
+ }
+}
+#else
+/* irq stack only needs to be 16 byte aligned - not IRQ_STACK_SIZE aligned. */
+DEFINE_PER_CPU_ALIGNED(unsigned long [IRQ_STACK_SIZE/sizeof(long)], irq_stack);
+
static void init_irq_stacks(void)
{
int cpu;
@@ -58,6 +83,7 @@ static void init_irq_stacks(void)
for_each_possible_cpu(cpu)
per_cpu(irq_stack_ptr, cpu) = per_cpu(irq_stack, cpu);
}
+#endif
void __init init_IRQ(void)
{
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S b/arch/arm64/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
index 71565386d063..fe56c268a7d9 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
@@ -176,7 +176,7 @@ SECTIONS
_data = .;
_sdata = .;
- RW_DATA_SECTION(L1_CACHE_BYTES, PAGE_SIZE, THREAD_SIZE)
+ RW_DATA_SECTION(L1_CACHE_BYTES, PAGE_SIZE, THREAD_ALIGN)
/*
* Data written with the MMU off but read with the MMU on requires