aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/ia64/hp/common
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKrzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com>2016-08-03 13:46:00 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-08-04 08:50:07 -0400
commit00085f1efa387a8ce100e3734920f7639c80caa3 (patch)
tree41ff3d6e6884918b4fc4f1ae96a284098167c5b0 /arch/ia64/hp/common
parentmedia: mtk-vcodec: remove unused dma_attrs (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-00085f1efa387a8ce100e3734920f7639c80caa3.tar.xz
linux-dev-00085f1efa387a8ce100e3734920f7639c80caa3.zip
dma-mapping: use unsigned long for dma_attrs
The dma-mapping core and the implementations do not change the DMA attributes passed by pointer. Thus the pointer can point to const data. However the attributes do not have to be a bitfield. Instead unsigned long will do fine: 1. This is just simpler. Both in terms of reading the code and setting attributes. Instead of initializing local attributes on the stack and passing pointer to it to dma_set_attr(), just set the bits. 2. It brings safeness and checking for const correctness because the attributes are passed by value. Semantic patches for this change (at least most of them): virtual patch virtual context @r@ identifier f, attrs; @@ f(..., - struct dma_attrs *attrs + unsigned long attrs , ...) { ... } @@ identifier r.f; @@ f(..., - NULL + 0 ) and // Options: --all-includes virtual patch virtual context @r@ identifier f, attrs; type t; @@ t f(..., struct dma_attrs *attrs); @@ identifier r.f; @@ f(..., - NULL + 0 ) Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1468399300-5399-2-git-send-email-k.kozlowski@samsung.com Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com> Acked-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Acked-by: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> Acked-by: Hans-Christian Noren Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Acked-by: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> [c6x] Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> [cris] Acked-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> [drm] Reviewed-by: Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@sandisk.com> Acked-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> [iommu] Acked-by: Fabien Dessenne <fabien.dessenne@st.com> [bdisp] Reviewed-by: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com> [vb2-core] Acked-by: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com> [xen] Acked-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> [xen swiotlb] Acked-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> [iommu] Acked-by: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> [hexagon] Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k] Acked-by: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com> [s390] Acked-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org> Acked-by: Hans-Christian Noren Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> [avr32] Acked-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> [arc] Acked-by: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> [arm64 and dma-iommu] Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/ia64/hp/common')
-rw-r--r--arch/ia64/hp/common/sba_iommu.c22
1 files changed, 11 insertions, 11 deletions
diff --git a/arch/ia64/hp/common/sba_iommu.c b/arch/ia64/hp/common/sba_iommu.c
index a6d6190c9d24..630ee8073899 100644
--- a/arch/ia64/hp/common/sba_iommu.c
+++ b/arch/ia64/hp/common/sba_iommu.c
@@ -919,7 +919,7 @@ sba_mark_invalid(struct ioc *ioc, dma_addr_t iova, size_t byte_cnt)
static dma_addr_t sba_map_page(struct device *dev, struct page *page,
unsigned long poff, size_t size,
enum dma_data_direction dir,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
struct ioc *ioc;
void *addr = page_address(page) + poff;
@@ -1005,7 +1005,7 @@ static dma_addr_t sba_map_page(struct device *dev, struct page *page,
static dma_addr_t sba_map_single_attrs(struct device *dev, void *addr,
size_t size, enum dma_data_direction dir,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
return sba_map_page(dev, virt_to_page(addr),
(unsigned long)addr & ~PAGE_MASK, size, dir, attrs);
@@ -1046,7 +1046,7 @@ sba_mark_clean(struct ioc *ioc, dma_addr_t iova, size_t size)
* See Documentation/DMA-API-HOWTO.txt
*/
static void sba_unmap_page(struct device *dev, dma_addr_t iova, size_t size,
- enum dma_data_direction dir, struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ enum dma_data_direction dir, unsigned long attrs)
{
struct ioc *ioc;
#if DELAYED_RESOURCE_CNT > 0
@@ -1115,7 +1115,7 @@ static void sba_unmap_page(struct device *dev, dma_addr_t iova, size_t size,
}
void sba_unmap_single_attrs(struct device *dev, dma_addr_t iova, size_t size,
- enum dma_data_direction dir, struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ enum dma_data_direction dir, unsigned long attrs)
{
sba_unmap_page(dev, iova, size, dir, attrs);
}
@@ -1130,7 +1130,7 @@ void sba_unmap_single_attrs(struct device *dev, dma_addr_t iova, size_t size,
*/
static void *
sba_alloc_coherent(struct device *dev, size_t size, dma_addr_t *dma_handle,
- gfp_t flags, struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ gfp_t flags, unsigned long attrs)
{
struct ioc *ioc;
void *addr;
@@ -1175,7 +1175,7 @@ sba_alloc_coherent(struct device *dev, size_t size, dma_addr_t *dma_handle,
* device to map single to get an iova mapping.
*/
*dma_handle = sba_map_single_attrs(&ioc->sac_only_dev->dev, addr,
- size, 0, NULL);
+ size, 0, 0);
return addr;
}
@@ -1191,9 +1191,9 @@ sba_alloc_coherent(struct device *dev, size_t size, dma_addr_t *dma_handle,
* See Documentation/DMA-API-HOWTO.txt
*/
static void sba_free_coherent(struct device *dev, size_t size, void *vaddr,
- dma_addr_t dma_handle, struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ dma_addr_t dma_handle, unsigned long attrs)
{
- sba_unmap_single_attrs(dev, dma_handle, size, 0, NULL);
+ sba_unmap_single_attrs(dev, dma_handle, size, 0, 0);
free_pages((unsigned long) vaddr, get_order(size));
}
@@ -1442,7 +1442,7 @@ sba_coalesce_chunks(struct ioc *ioc, struct device *dev,
static void sba_unmap_sg_attrs(struct device *dev, struct scatterlist *sglist,
int nents, enum dma_data_direction dir,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs);
+ unsigned long attrs);
/**
* sba_map_sg - map Scatter/Gather list
* @dev: instance of PCI owned by the driver that's asking.
@@ -1455,7 +1455,7 @@ static void sba_unmap_sg_attrs(struct device *dev, struct scatterlist *sglist,
*/
static int sba_map_sg_attrs(struct device *dev, struct scatterlist *sglist,
int nents, enum dma_data_direction dir,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
struct ioc *ioc;
int coalesced, filled = 0;
@@ -1551,7 +1551,7 @@ static int sba_map_sg_attrs(struct device *dev, struct scatterlist *sglist,
*/
static void sba_unmap_sg_attrs(struct device *dev, struct scatterlist *sglist,
int nents, enum dma_data_direction dir,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
#ifdef ASSERT_PDIR_SANITY
struct ioc *ioc;