aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/m32r/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorChris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>2016-10-07 17:02:55 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-10-07 18:46:30 -0700
commit6727ad9e206cc08b80d8000a4d67f8417e53539d (patch)
tree3f9ca202417b08918547d5db776d041fa4ee61e3 /arch/m32r/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
parentarch/tile: adopt the new nmi_backtrace framework (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-6727ad9e206cc08b80d8000a4d67f8417e53539d.tar.xz
linux-dev-6727ad9e206cc08b80d8000a4d67f8417e53539d.zip
nmi_backtrace: generate one-line reports for idle cpus
When doing an nmi backtrace of many cores, most of which are idle, the output is a little overwhelming and very uninformative. Suppress messages for cpus that are idling when they are interrupted and just emit one line, "NMI backtrace for N skipped: idling at pc 0xNNN". We do this by grouping all the cpuidle code together into a new .cpuidle.text section, and then checking the address of the interrupted PC to see if it lies within that section. This commit suitably tags x86 and tile idle routines, and only adds in the minimal framework for other architectures. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1472487169-14923-5-git-send-email-cmetcalf@mellanox.com Signed-off-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Tested-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Tested-by: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org> [arm] Tested-by: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Aaron Tomlin <atomlin@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/m32r/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S')
-rw-r--r--arch/m32r/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/m32r/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S b/arch/m32r/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
index 018e4a711d79..ad1fe56455aa 100644
--- a/arch/m32r/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
+++ b/arch/m32r/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
@@ -31,6 +31,7 @@ SECTIONS
HEAD_TEXT
TEXT_TEXT
SCHED_TEXT
+ CPUIDLE_TEXT
LOCK_TEXT
*(.fixup)
*(.gnu.warning)