aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/nds32
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-07 16:31:06 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-07 18:32:03 -0800
commitb63a07d69d404435125e77286620891ef8f9d719 (patch)
tree9c6d64b7868c4215b0e7c242267a2ba90ceacd1b /arch/nds32
parentopenrisc: simplify pte_alloc_one_kernel() (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-b63a07d69d404435125e77286620891ef8f9d719.tar.xz
linux-dev-b63a07d69d404435125e77286620891ef8f9d719.zip
arch: simplify several early memory allocations
There are several early memory allocations in arch/ code that use memblock_phys_alloc() to allocate memory, convert the returned physical address to the virtual address and then set the allocated memory to zero. Exactly the same behaviour can be achieved simply by calling memblock_alloc(): it allocates the memory in the same way as memblock_phys_alloc(), then it performs the phys_to_virt() conversion and clears the allocated memory. Replace the longer sequence with a simpler call to memblock_alloc(). Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1546248566-14910-6-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi> Cc: Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/nds32')
-rw-r--r--arch/nds32/mm/init.c12
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 8 deletions
diff --git a/arch/nds32/mm/init.c b/arch/nds32/mm/init.c
index 253f79fc7196..d1e521cce317 100644
--- a/arch/nds32/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/nds32/mm/init.c
@@ -78,8 +78,7 @@ static void __init map_ram(void)
}
/* Alloc one page for holding PTE's... */
- pte = (pte_t *) __va(memblock_phys_alloc(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE));
- memset(pte, 0, PAGE_SIZE);
+ pte = memblock_alloc(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
set_pmd(pme, __pmd(__pa(pte) + _PAGE_KERNEL_TABLE));
/* Fill the newly allocated page with PTE'S */
@@ -111,8 +110,7 @@ static void __init fixedrange_init(void)
pgd = swapper_pg_dir + pgd_index(vaddr);
pud = pud_offset(pgd, vaddr);
pmd = pmd_offset(pud, vaddr);
- fixmap_pmd_p = (pmd_t *) __va(memblock_phys_alloc(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE));
- memset(fixmap_pmd_p, 0, PAGE_SIZE);
+ fixmap_pmd_p = memblock_alloc(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
set_pmd(pmd, __pmd(__pa(fixmap_pmd_p) + _PAGE_KERNEL_TABLE));
#ifdef CONFIG_HIGHMEM
@@ -124,8 +122,7 @@ static void __init fixedrange_init(void)
pgd = swapper_pg_dir + pgd_index(vaddr);
pud = pud_offset(pgd, vaddr);
pmd = pmd_offset(pud, vaddr);
- pte = (pte_t *) __va(memblock_phys_alloc(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE));
- memset(pte, 0, PAGE_SIZE);
+ pte = memblock_alloc(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
set_pmd(pmd, __pmd(__pa(pte) + _PAGE_KERNEL_TABLE));
pkmap_page_table = pte;
#endif /* CONFIG_HIGHMEM */
@@ -150,8 +147,7 @@ void __init paging_init(void)
fixedrange_init();
/* allocate space for empty_zero_page */
- zero_page = __va(memblock_phys_alloc(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE));
- memset(zero_page, 0, PAGE_SIZE);
+ zero_page = memblock_alloc(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
zone_sizes_init();
empty_zero_page = virt_to_page(zero_page);