aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/nios2/include/asm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorChristian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>2016-10-25 11:03:11 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-11-16 10:15:09 +0100
commit79ab11cdb90d8536817ab7357ecb6b1ff76be26c (patch)
tree98d7dde008cd59664f62105ad1a348ff7edfb6de /arch/nios2/include/asm
parentlocking/mutex, drm: Introduce mutex_trylock_recursive() (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-79ab11cdb90d8536817ab7357ecb6b1ff76be26c.tar.xz
linux-dev-79ab11cdb90d8536817ab7357ecb6b1ff76be26c.zip
locking/core: Introduce cpu_relax_yield()
For spinning loops people do often use barrier() or cpu_relax(). For most architectures cpu_relax and barrier are the same, but on some architectures cpu_relax can add some latency. For example on power,sparc64 and arc, cpu_relax can shift the CPU towards other hardware threads in an SMT environment. On s390 cpu_relax does even more, it uses an hypercall to the hypervisor to give up the timeslice. In contrast to the SMT yielding this can result in larger latencies. In some places this latency is unwanted, so another variant "cpu_relax_lowlatency" was introduced. Before this is used in more and more places, lets revert the logic and provide a cpu_relax_yield that can be called in places where yielding is more important than latency. By default this is the same as cpu_relax on all architectures. Signed-off-by: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Cc: Noam Camus <noamc@ezchip.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org Cc: virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org Cc: xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1477386195-32736-2-git-send-email-borntraeger@de.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/nios2/include/asm')
-rw-r--r--arch/nios2/include/asm/processor.h1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/nios2/include/asm/processor.h b/arch/nios2/include/asm/processor.h
index 1c953f0cadbf..303e5932a733 100644
--- a/arch/nios2/include/asm/processor.h
+++ b/arch/nios2/include/asm/processor.h
@@ -88,6 +88,7 @@ extern unsigned long get_wchan(struct task_struct *p);
#define KSTK_ESP(tsk) ((tsk)->thread.kregs->sp)
#define cpu_relax() barrier()
+#define cpu_relax_yield() cpu_relax()
#define cpu_relax_lowlatency() cpu_relax()
#endif /* __ASSEMBLY__ */