aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/s390/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNaoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>2013-09-11 14:22:09 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-09-11 15:57:48 -0700
commitc8721bbbdd36382de51cd6b7a56322e0acca2414 (patch)
tree8fb7b55974defcde9a4b07f571f0dd2dd1ad591f /arch/s390/mm
parentmm: migrate: remove VM_HUGETLB from vma flag check in vma_migratable() (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-c8721bbbdd36382de51cd6b7a56322e0acca2414.tar.xz
linux-dev-c8721bbbdd36382de51cd6b7a56322e0acca2414.zip
mm: memory-hotplug: enable memory hotplug to handle hugepage
Until now we can't offline memory blocks which contain hugepages because a hugepage is considered as an unmovable page. But now with this patch series, a hugepage has become movable, so by using hugepage migration we can offline such memory blocks. What's different from other users of hugepage migration is that we need to decompose all the hugepages inside the target memory block into free buddy pages after hugepage migration, because otherwise free hugepages remaining in the memory block intervene the memory offlining. For this reason we introduce new functions dissolve_free_huge_page() and dissolve_free_huge_pages(). Other than that, what this patch does is straightforwardly to add hugepage migration code, that is, adding hugepage code to the functions which scan over pfn and collect hugepages to be migrated, and adding a hugepage allocation function to alloc_migrate_target(). As for larger hugepages (1GB for x86_64), it's not easy to do hotremove over them because it's larger than memory block. So we now simply leave it to fail as it is. [yongjun_wei@trendmicro.com.cn: remove duplicated include] Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Acked-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Hillf Danton <dhillf@gmail.com> Cc: Wanpeng Li <liwanp@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Wei Yongjun <yongjun_wei@trendmicro.com.cn> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/s390/mm')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions