aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/sh/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>2018-06-21 13:13:18 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2018-06-21 14:25:24 +0200
commit18cc1814d4e7560412c9c8c6d28f9d6782c8b402 (patch)
tree7295996dcedd3f3d90da1e570a1b459499a0d54a /arch/sh/include
parentatomics/treewide: Make atomic64_fetch_add_unless() optional (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-18cc1814d4e7560412c9c8c6d28f9d6782c8b402.tar.xz
linux-dev-18cc1814d4e7560412c9c8c6d28f9d6782c8b402.zip
atomics/treewide: Make test ops optional
Some of the atomics return the result of a test applied after the atomic operation, and almost all architectures implement these as trivial wrappers around the underlying atomic. Specifically: * <atomic>_inc_and_test(v) is (<atomic>_inc_return(v) == 0) * <atomic>_dec_and_test(v) is (<atomic>_dec_return(v) == 0) * <atomic>_sub_and_test(i, v) is (<atomic>_sub_return(i, v) == 0) * <atomic>_add_negative(i, v) is (<atomic>_add_return(i, v) < 0) Rather than have these definitions duplicated in all architectures, with minor inconsistencies in formatting and documentation, let's make these operations optional, with default fallbacks as above. Implementations must now provide a preprocessor symbol. The instrumented atomics are updated accordingly. Both x86 and m68k have custom implementations, which are left as-is, given preprocessor symbols to avoid being overridden. There should be no functional change as a result of this patch. Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Acked-by: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com> Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Link: https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20180621121321.4761-16-mark.rutland@arm.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/sh/include')
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/include/asm/atomic.h4
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sh/include/asm/atomic.h b/arch/sh/include/asm/atomic.h
index 422fac764ca1..d438494fa112 100644
--- a/arch/sh/include/asm/atomic.h
+++ b/arch/sh/include/asm/atomic.h
@@ -32,12 +32,8 @@
#include <asm/atomic-irq.h>
#endif
-#define atomic_add_negative(a, v) (atomic_add_return((a), (v)) < 0)
#define atomic_dec_return(v) atomic_sub_return(1, (v))
#define atomic_inc_return(v) atomic_add_return(1, (v))
-#define atomic_inc_and_test(v) (atomic_inc_return(v) == 0)
-#define atomic_sub_and_test(i,v) (atomic_sub_return((i), (v)) == 0)
-#define atomic_dec_and_test(v) (atomic_sub_return(1, (v)) == 0)
#define atomic_inc(v) atomic_add(1, (v))
#define atomic_dec(v) atomic_sub(1, (v))