aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/sh/kernel/hw_breakpoint.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>2018-06-26 04:58:48 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2018-06-26 09:07:53 +0200
commit9a4903dde2c8633c5fcf887b98c4e047a6154a54 (patch)
tree7f5bb1b943f8da88d88e8d2d77c272e1378f937e /arch/sh/kernel/hw_breakpoint.c
parentMerge branch 'linus' into perf/core, to pick up fixes (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-9a4903dde2c8633c5fcf887b98c4e047a6154a54.tar.xz
linux-dev-9a4903dde2c8633c5fcf887b98c4e047a6154a54.zip
perf/hw_breakpoint: Split attribute parse and commit
arch_validate_hwbkpt_settings() mixes up attribute check and commit into a single code entity. Therefore the validation may return an error due to incorrect atributes while still leaving halfway modified architecture breakpoint data. This is harmless when we deal with a new breakpoint but it becomes a problem when we modify an existing breakpoint. Split attribute parse and commit to fix that. The architecture is passed a "struct arch_hw_breakpoint" to fill on top of the new attr and the core takes care about copying the backend data once it's fully validated. The architectures then need to implement the new API. Original-patch-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Reported-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Joel Fernandes <joel.opensrc@gmail.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1529981939-8231-2-git-send-email-frederic@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to '')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions