aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/sh/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMasami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>2018-06-20 01:15:45 +0900
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2018-06-21 12:33:19 +0200
commitcce188bd58cfbd603b904dbce75f34de2eff959a (patch)
tree745abbdf6e0b9587c114ae48f3504bd085238b6c /arch/sh/kernel
parentsparc64/kprobes: Don't call the ->break_handler() in sparc64 kprobes code (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-cce188bd58cfbd603b904dbce75f34de2eff959a.tar.xz
linux-dev-cce188bd58cfbd603b904dbce75f34de2eff959a.zip
bpf/error-inject/kprobes: Clear current_kprobe and enable preempt in kprobe
Clear current_kprobe and enable preemption in kprobe even if pre_handler returns !0. This simplifies function override using kprobes. Jprobe used to require to keep the preemption disabled and keep current_kprobe until it returned to original function entry. For this reason kprobe_int3_handler() and similar arch dependent kprobe handers checks pre_handler result and exit without enabling preemption if the result is !0. After removing the jprobe, Kprobes does not need to keep preempt disabled even if user handler returns !0 anymore. But since the function override handler in error-inject and bpf is also returns !0 if it overrides a function, to balancing the preempt count, it enables preemption and reset current kprobe by itself. That is a bad design that is very buggy. This fixes such unbalanced preempt-count and current_kprobes setting in kprobes, bpf and error-inject. Note: for powerpc and x86, this removes all preempt_disable from kprobe_ftrace_handler because ftrace callbacks are called under preempt disabled. Signed-off-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org> Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Acked-by: Naveen N. Rao <naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org> Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org> Cc: Josef Bacik <jbacik@fb.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-sh@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org Link: https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/152942494574.15209.12323837825873032258.stgit@devbox Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to '')
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/kernel/kprobes.c7
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sh/kernel/kprobes.c b/arch/sh/kernel/kprobes.c
index 4fafe0cd12c6..241e903dd3ee 100644
--- a/arch/sh/kernel/kprobes.c
+++ b/arch/sh/kernel/kprobes.c
@@ -272,9 +272,12 @@ static int __kprobes kprobe_handler(struct pt_regs *regs)
set_current_kprobe(p, regs, kcb);
kcb->kprobe_status = KPROBE_HIT_ACTIVE;
- if (p->pre_handler && p->pre_handler(p, regs))
+ if (p->pre_handler && p->pre_handler(p, regs)) {
/* handler has already set things up, so skip ss setup */
+ reset_current_kprobe();
+ preempt_enable_no_resched();
return 1;
+ }
prepare_singlestep(p, regs);
kcb->kprobe_status = KPROBE_HIT_SS;
@@ -352,8 +355,6 @@ int __kprobes trampoline_probe_handler(struct kprobe *p, struct pt_regs *regs)
regs->pc = orig_ret_address;
kretprobe_hash_unlock(current, &flags);
- preempt_enable_no_resched();
-
hlist_for_each_entry_safe(ri, tmp, &empty_rp, hlist) {
hlist_del(&ri->hlist);
kfree(ri);