aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/sh/mm/numa.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-11 23:30:31 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-12 10:04:02 -0700
commit8a7f97b902f4fb0d94b355b6b3f1fbd7154cafb9 (patch)
tree5d246cde363bba8494a6e6755ad0a26c2dad5cb8 /arch/sh/mm/numa.c
parentswiotlb: add checks for the return value of memblock_alloc*() (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-8a7f97b902f4fb0d94b355b6b3f1fbd7154cafb9.tar.xz
linux-dev-8a7f97b902f4fb0d94b355b6b3f1fbd7154cafb9.zip
treewide: add checks for the return value of memblock_alloc*()
Add check for the return value of memblock_alloc*() functions and call panic() in case of error. The panic message repeats the one used by panicing memblock allocators with adjustment of parameters to include only relevant ones. The replacement was mostly automated with semantic patches like the one below with manual massaging of format strings. @@ expression ptr, size, align; @@ ptr = memblock_alloc(size, align); + if (!ptr) + panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=0x%lx\n", __func__, size, align); [anders.roxell@linaro.org: use '%pa' with 'phys_addr_t' type] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190131161046.21886-1-anders.roxell@linaro.org [rppt@linux.ibm.com: fix format strings for panics after memblock_alloc] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548950940-15145-1-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com [rppt@linux.ibm.com: don't panic if the allocation in sparse_buffer_init fails] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190131074018.GD28876@rapoport-lnx [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix xtensa printk warning] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-20-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@linaro.org> Reviewed-by: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky] Acked-by: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> [MIPS] Acked-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> [s390] Reviewed-by: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen] Reviewed-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k] Acked-by: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> [xtensa] Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to '')
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/mm/numa.c4
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sh/mm/numa.c b/arch/sh/mm/numa.c
index c4bde6148810..f7e4439deb17 100644
--- a/arch/sh/mm/numa.c
+++ b/arch/sh/mm/numa.c
@@ -43,6 +43,10 @@ void __init setup_bootmem_node(int nid, unsigned long start, unsigned long end)
/* Node-local pgdat */
NODE_DATA(nid) = memblock_alloc_node(sizeof(struct pglist_data),
SMP_CACHE_BYTES, nid);
+ if (!NODE_DATA(nid))
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %zu bytes align=0x%x nid=%d\n",
+ __func__, sizeof(struct pglist_data), SMP_CACHE_BYTES,
+ nid);
NODE_DATA(nid)->node_start_pfn = start_pfn;
NODE_DATA(nid)->node_spanned_pages = end_pfn - start_pfn;