aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/sparc/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>2017-11-15 17:36:18 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-11-15 18:21:05 -0800
commit2a20aa171071a334d80c4e5d5af719d8374702fc (patch)
tree3d9b247140baed542d23911185df76083549a779 /arch/sparc/mm
parentx86/mm: set fields in deferred pages (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-2a20aa171071a334d80c4e5d5af719d8374702fc.tar.xz
linux-dev-2a20aa171071a334d80c4e5d5af719d8374702fc.zip
sparc64/mm: set fields in deferred pages
Without deferred struct page feature (CONFIG_DEFERRED_STRUCT_PAGE_INIT), flags and other fields in "struct page"es are never changed prior to first initializing struct pages by going through __init_single_page(). With deferred struct page feature enabled there is a case where we set some fields prior to initializing: mem_init() { register_page_bootmem_info(); free_all_bootmem(); ... } When register_page_bootmem_info() is called only non-deferred struct pages are initialized. But, this function goes through some reserved pages which might be part of the deferred, and thus are not yet initialized. mem_init register_page_bootmem_info register_page_bootmem_info_node get_page_bootmem .. setting fields here .. such as: page->freelist = (void *)type; free_all_bootmem() free_low_memory_core_early() for_each_reserved_mem_region() reserve_bootmem_region() init_reserved_page() <- Only if this is deferred reserved page __init_single_pfn() __init_single_page() memset(0) <-- Loose the set fields here We end up with similar issue as in the previous patch, where currently we do not observe problem as memory is zeroed. But, if flag asserts are changed we can start hitting issues. Also, because in this patch series we will stop zeroing struct page memory during allocation, we must make sure that struct pages are properly initialized prior to using them. The deferred-reserved pages are initialized in free_all_bootmem(). Therefore, the fix is to switch the above calls. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171013173214.27300-4-pasha.tatashin@oracle.com Signed-off-by: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com> Reviewed-by: Steven Sistare <steven.sistare@oracle.com> Reviewed-by: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com> Reviewed-by: Bob Picco <bob.picco@oracle.com> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/sparc/mm')
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c9
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c b/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c
index 2de22d703076..984e9d65ea0d 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c
@@ -2540,10 +2540,17 @@ void __init mem_init(void)
{
high_memory = __va(last_valid_pfn << PAGE_SHIFT);
- register_page_bootmem_info();
free_all_bootmem();
/*
+ * Must be done after boot memory is put on freelist, because here we
+ * might set fields in deferred struct pages that have not yet been
+ * initialized, and free_all_bootmem() initializes all the reserved
+ * deferred pages for us.
+ */
+ register_page_bootmem_info();
+
+ /*
* Set up the zero page, mark it reserved, so that page count
* is not manipulated when freeing the page from user ptes.
*/