aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/sparc/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>2017-11-15 17:35:33 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-11-15 18:21:04 -0800
commitb4e98d9ac775907cc53fb08fcb6776deb7694e30 (patch)
tree4a82caff5eab86a66f078622acfd68df5ac92235 /arch/sparc/mm
parentkmemleak: change /sys/kernel/debug/kmemleak permissions from 0444 to 0644 (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-b4e98d9ac775907cc53fb08fcb6776deb7694e30.tar.xz
linux-dev-b4e98d9ac775907cc53fb08fcb6776deb7694e30.zip
mm: account pud page tables
On a machine with 5-level paging support a process can allocate significant amount of memory and stay unnoticed by oom-killer and memory cgroup. The trick is to allocate a lot of PUD page tables. We don't account PUD page tables, only PMD and PTE. We already addressed the same issue for PMD page tables, see commit dc6c9a35b66b ("mm: account pmd page tables to the process"). Introduction of 5-level paging brings the same issue for PUD page tables. The patch expands accounting to PUD level. [kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com: s/pmd_t/pud_t/] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171004074305.x35eh5u7ybbt5kar@black.fi.intel.com [heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com: s390/mm: fix pud table accounting] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171103090551.18231-1-heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171002080427.3320-1-kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/sparc/mm')
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/mm/hugetlbpage.c1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sparc/mm/hugetlbpage.c b/arch/sparc/mm/hugetlbpage.c
index 5078b7f68890..01f63b4ee2b4 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/mm/hugetlbpage.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/mm/hugetlbpage.c
@@ -472,6 +472,7 @@ static void hugetlb_free_pud_range(struct mmu_gather *tlb, pgd_t *pgd,
pud = pud_offset(pgd, start);
pgd_clear(pgd);
pud_free_tlb(tlb, pud, start);
+ mm_dec_nr_puds(tlb->mm);
}
void hugetlb_free_pgd_range(struct mmu_gather *tlb,