aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/sparc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-07 16:31:06 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-07 18:32:03 -0800
commitb63a07d69d404435125e77286620891ef8f9d719 (patch)
tree9c6d64b7868c4215b0e7c242267a2ba90ceacd1b /arch/sparc
parentopenrisc: simplify pte_alloc_one_kernel() (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-b63a07d69d404435125e77286620891ef8f9d719.tar.xz
linux-dev-b63a07d69d404435125e77286620891ef8f9d719.zip
arch: simplify several early memory allocations
There are several early memory allocations in arch/ code that use memblock_phys_alloc() to allocate memory, convert the returned physical address to the virtual address and then set the allocated memory to zero. Exactly the same behaviour can be achieved simply by calling memblock_alloc(): it allocates the memory in the same way as memblock_phys_alloc(), then it performs the phys_to_virt() conversion and clears the allocated memory. Replace the longer sequence with a simpler call to memblock_alloc(). Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1546248566-14910-6-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi> Cc: Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/sparc')
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/kernel/prom_64.c7
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c9
2 files changed, 5 insertions, 11 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_64.c b/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_64.c
index e897a4ded3a1..c50ff1fee0e6 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_64.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_64.c
@@ -34,16 +34,13 @@
void * __init prom_early_alloc(unsigned long size)
{
- unsigned long paddr = memblock_phys_alloc(size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
- void *ret;
+ void *ret = memblock_alloc(size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
- if (!paddr) {
+ if (!ret) {
prom_printf("prom_early_alloc(%lu) failed\n", size);
prom_halt();
}
- ret = __va(paddr);
- memset(ret, 0, size);
prom_early_allocated += size;
return ret;
diff --git a/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c b/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c
index 9e6bd868ba6f..ef340e8f209f 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c
@@ -1089,16 +1089,13 @@ static void __init allocate_node_data(int nid)
struct pglist_data *p;
unsigned long start_pfn, end_pfn;
#ifdef CONFIG_NEED_MULTIPLE_NODES
- unsigned long paddr;
- paddr = memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid(sizeof(struct pglist_data),
- SMP_CACHE_BYTES, nid);
- if (!paddr) {
+ NODE_DATA(nid) = memblock_alloc_node(sizeof(struct pglist_data),
+ SMP_CACHE_BYTES, nid);
+ if (!NODE_DATA(nid)) {
prom_printf("Cannot allocate pglist_data for nid[%d]\n", nid);
prom_halt();
}
- NODE_DATA(nid) = __va(paddr);
- memset(NODE_DATA(nid), 0, sizeof(struct pglist_data));
NODE_DATA(nid)->node_id = nid;
#endif