aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/mm/fault.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSouptick Joarder <jrdr.linux@gmail.com>2019-03-07 16:31:14 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-07 18:32:03 -0800
commit3d3539018d2cbd12e5af4a132636ee7fd8d43ef0 (patch)
tree04a93330b5d3fd876babda6bbd494da909bf2d93 /arch/x86/mm/fault.c
parentarm, s390, unicore32: remove oneliner wrappers for memblock_alloc() (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-3d3539018d2cbd12e5af4a132636ee7fd8d43ef0.tar.xz
linux-dev-3d3539018d2cbd12e5af4a132636ee7fd8d43ef0.zip
mm: create the new vm_fault_t type
Page fault handlers are supposed to return VM_FAULT codes, but some drivers/file systems mistakenly return error numbers. Now that all drivers/file systems have been converted to use the vm_fault_t return type, change the type definition to no longer be compatible with 'int'. By making it an unsigned int, the function prototype becomes incompatible with a function which returns int. Sparse will detect any attempts to return a value which is not a VM_FAULT code. VM_FAULT_SET_HINDEX and VM_FAULT_GET_HINDEX values are changed to avoid conflict with other VM_FAULT codes. [jrdr.linux@gmail.com: fix warnings] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190109183742.GA24326@jordon-HP-15-Notebook-PC Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190108183041.GA12137@jordon-HP-15-Notebook-PC Signed-off-by: Souptick Joarder <jrdr.linux@gmail.com> Reviewed-by: William Kucharski <william.kucharski@oracle.com> Reviewed-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to '')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/fault.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/fault.c b/arch/x86/mm/fault.c
index 9d5c75f02295..667f1da36208 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/fault.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/fault.c
@@ -1031,7 +1031,7 @@ bad_area_access_error(struct pt_regs *regs, unsigned long error_code,
static void
do_sigbus(struct pt_regs *regs, unsigned long error_code, unsigned long address,
- unsigned int fault)
+ vm_fault_t fault)
{
struct task_struct *tsk = current;