aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/infiniband/core
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJohn Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>2020-01-30 22:13:02 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-01-31 10:30:37 -0800
commitdfa0a4fff11b32740c67fb0baf219702b978fc51 (patch)
tree6f22cf74a1a76adfb17821e62ff926c1465c3b7e /drivers/infiniband/core
parentgoldish_pipe: convert to pin_user_pages() and put_user_page() (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-dfa0a4fff11b32740c67fb0baf219702b978fc51.tar.xz
linux-dev-dfa0a4fff11b32740c67fb0baf219702b978fc51.zip
IB/{core,hw,umem}: set FOLL_PIN via pin_user_pages*(), fix up ODP
Convert infiniband to use the new pin_user_pages*() calls. Also, revert earlier changes to Infiniband ODP that had it using put_user_page(). ODP is "Case 3" in Documentation/core-api/pin_user_pages.rst, which is to say, normal get_user_pages() and put_page() is the API to use there. The new pin_user_pages*() calls replace corresponding get_user_pages*() calls, and set the FOLL_PIN flag. The FOLL_PIN flag requires that the caller must return the pages via put_user_page*() calls, but infiniband was already doing that as part of an earlier commit. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200107224558.2362728-14-jhubbard@nvidia.com Signed-off-by: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com> Reviewed-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com> Cc: Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com> Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Björn Töpel <bjorn.topel@intel.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl> Cc: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name> Cc: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@mellanox.com> Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/infiniband/core')
-rw-r--r--drivers/infiniband/core/umem.c2
-rw-r--r--drivers/infiniband/core/umem_odp.c13
2 files changed, 7 insertions, 8 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/infiniband/core/umem.c b/drivers/infiniband/core/umem.c
index f995b50ee1cc..aae5bfed7f3b 100644
--- a/drivers/infiniband/core/umem.c
+++ b/drivers/infiniband/core/umem.c
@@ -257,7 +257,7 @@ struct ib_umem *ib_umem_get(struct ib_device *device, unsigned long addr,
sg = umem->sg_head.sgl;
while (npages) {
- ret = get_user_pages_fast(cur_base,
+ ret = pin_user_pages_fast(cur_base,
min_t(unsigned long, npages,
PAGE_SIZE /
sizeof(struct page *)),
diff --git a/drivers/infiniband/core/umem_odp.c b/drivers/infiniband/core/umem_odp.c
index dac3fd2ebc26..a71ce0ae2031 100644
--- a/drivers/infiniband/core/umem_odp.c
+++ b/drivers/infiniband/core/umem_odp.c
@@ -293,9 +293,8 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(ib_umem_odp_release);
* The function returns -EFAULT if the DMA mapping operation fails. It returns
* -EAGAIN if a concurrent invalidation prevents us from updating the page.
*
- * The page is released via put_user_page even if the operation failed. For
- * on-demand pinning, the page is released whenever it isn't stored in the
- * umem.
+ * The page is released via put_page even if the operation failed. For on-demand
+ * pinning, the page is released whenever it isn't stored in the umem.
*/
static int ib_umem_odp_map_dma_single_page(
struct ib_umem_odp *umem_odp,
@@ -348,7 +347,7 @@ static int ib_umem_odp_map_dma_single_page(
}
out:
- put_user_page(page);
+ put_page(page);
return ret;
}
@@ -458,7 +457,7 @@ int ib_umem_odp_map_dma_pages(struct ib_umem_odp *umem_odp, u64 user_virt,
ret = -EFAULT;
break;
}
- put_user_page(local_page_list[j]);
+ put_page(local_page_list[j]);
continue;
}
@@ -485,8 +484,8 @@ int ib_umem_odp_map_dma_pages(struct ib_umem_odp *umem_odp, u64 user_virt,
* ib_umem_odp_map_dma_single_page().
*/
if (npages - (j + 1) > 0)
- put_user_pages(&local_page_list[j+1],
- npages - (j + 1));
+ release_pages(&local_page_list[j+1],
+ npages - (j + 1));
break;
}
}