aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/net/ethernet/myricom
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJarod Wilson <jarod@redhat.com>2016-10-17 15:54:17 -0400
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>2016-10-18 11:34:22 -0400
commit44770e1180decf9b483d9b537fdad385a4fbf462 (patch)
tree97dff06ab97f91387a88de2dfb3c6d959609d321 /drivers/net/ethernet/myricom
parentethernet/toshiba: use core min/max MTU checking (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-44770e1180decf9b483d9b537fdad385a4fbf462.tar.xz
linux-dev-44770e1180decf9b483d9b537fdad385a4fbf462.zip
ethernet: use core min/max MTU checking
et131x: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 9216 altera_tse: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 1500 amd8111e: min_mtu 60, max_mtu 9000 bnad: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 9000 macb: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 1500 or 10240 depending on hardware capability xgmac: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 9000 cxgb2: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9582 (pm3393) or 9600 (vsc7326) enic: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 gianfar: min_mtu 50, max_mu 9586 hns_enet: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9578 (v1) or 9706 (v2) ksz884x: min_mtu 60, max_mtu 1894 myri10ge: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 natsemi: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 2024 nfp: min_mtu 68, max_mtu hardware-specific forcedeth: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 1500 or 9100, depending on hardware pch_gbe: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 10300 pasemi_mac: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 9000 qcaspi: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 1500 - remove qcaspi_netdev_change_mtu as it is now redundant rocker: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 sxgbe: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9000 stmmac: min_mtu 46, max_mtu depends on hardware tehuti: min_mtu 60, max_mtu 16384 - driver had no max mtu checking, but product docs say 16k jumbo packets are supported by the hardware netcp: min_mtu 68, max_mtu 9486 - remove netcp_ndo_change_mtu as it is now redundant via-velocity: min_mtu 64, max_mtu 9000 octeon: min_mtu 46, max_mtu 65370 CC: netdev@vger.kernel.org CC: Mark Einon <mark.einon@gmail.com> CC: Vince Bridgers <vbridger@opensource.altera.com> CC: Rasesh Mody <rasesh.mody@qlogic.com> CC: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@atmel.com> CC: Santosh Raspatur <santosh@chelsio.com> CC: Hariprasad S <hariprasad@chelsio.com> CC: Christian Benvenuti <benve@cisco.com> CC: Sujith Sankar <ssujith@cisco.com> CC: Govindarajulu Varadarajan <_govind@gmx.com> CC: Neel Patel <neepatel@cisco.com> CC: Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@freescale.com> CC: Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com> CC: Salil Mehta <salil.mehta@huawei.com> CC: Hyong-Youb Kim <hykim@myri.com> CC: Jakub Kicinski <jakub.kicinski@netronome.com> CC: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net> CC: Jiri Pirko <jiri@resnulli.us> CC: Byungho An <bh74.an@samsung.com> CC: Girish K S <ks.giri@samsung.com> CC: Vipul Pandya <vipul.pandya@samsung.com> CC: Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@st.com> CC: Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@st.com> CC: Andy Gospodarek <andy@greyhouse.net> CC: Wingman Kwok <w-kwok2@ti.com> CC: Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com> CC: Francois Romieu <romieu@fr.zoreil.com> Signed-off-by: Jarod Wilson <jarod@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/net/ethernet/myricom')
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/ethernet/myricom/myri10ge/myri10ge.c20
1 files changed, 11 insertions, 9 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/myricom/myri10ge/myri10ge.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/myricom/myri10ge/myri10ge.c
index 6d1a956e3f77..5ae3f175cc23 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/myricom/myri10ge/myri10ge.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/myricom/myri10ge/myri10ge.c
@@ -3232,10 +3232,6 @@ static int myri10ge_change_mtu(struct net_device *dev, int new_mtu)
struct myri10ge_priv *mgp = netdev_priv(dev);
int error = 0;
- if ((new_mtu < 68) || (ETH_HLEN + new_mtu > MYRI10GE_MAX_ETHER_MTU)) {
- netdev_err(dev, "new mtu (%d) is not valid\n", new_mtu);
- return -EINVAL;
- }
netdev_info(dev, "changing mtu from %d to %d\n", dev->mtu, new_mtu);
if (mgp->running) {
/* if we change the mtu on an active device, we must
@@ -4086,13 +4082,19 @@ static int myri10ge_probe(struct pci_dev *pdev, const struct pci_device_id *ent)
myri10ge_setup_dca(mgp);
#endif
pci_set_drvdata(pdev, mgp);
- if ((myri10ge_initial_mtu + ETH_HLEN) > MYRI10GE_MAX_ETHER_MTU)
- myri10ge_initial_mtu = MYRI10GE_MAX_ETHER_MTU - ETH_HLEN;
- if ((myri10ge_initial_mtu + ETH_HLEN) < 68)
- myri10ge_initial_mtu = 68;
- netdev->netdev_ops = &myri10ge_netdev_ops;
+ /* MTU range: 68 - 9000 */
+ netdev->min_mtu = ETH_MIN_MTU;
+ netdev->max_mtu = MYRI10GE_MAX_ETHER_MTU - ETH_HLEN;
+
+ if (myri10ge_initial_mtu > netdev->max_mtu)
+ myri10ge_initial_mtu = netdev->max_mtu;
+ if (myri10ge_initial_mtu < netdev->min_mtu)
+ myri10ge_initial_mtu = netdev->min_mtu;
+
netdev->mtu = myri10ge_initial_mtu;
+
+ netdev->netdev_ops = &myri10ge_netdev_ops;
netdev->hw_features = mgp->features | NETIF_F_RXCSUM;
/* fake NETIF_F_HW_VLAN_CTAG_RX for good GRO performance */