aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/net/ethernet/smsc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorTobias Klauser <tklauser@distanz.ch>2017-01-18 17:45:01 +0100
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>2017-01-18 17:22:49 -0500
commit4a7c972644c1151f6dd34ff4b5f7eacb239e22ee (patch)
tree5a712df870eac9710464921125246365c542521a /drivers/net/ethernet/smsc
parentnet: dsa: use cpu_switch instead of ds[0] (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-4a7c972644c1151f6dd34ff4b5f7eacb239e22ee.tar.xz
linux-dev-4a7c972644c1151f6dd34ff4b5f7eacb239e22ee.zip
net: Remove usage of net_device last_rx member
The network stack no longer uses the last_rx member of struct net_device since the bonding driver switched to use its own private last_rx in commit 9f242738376d ("bonding: use last_arp_rx in slave_last_rx()"). However, some drivers still (ab)use the field for their own purposes and some driver just update it without actually using it. Previously, there was an accompanying comment for the last_rx member added in commit 4dc89133f49b ("net: add a comment on netdev->last_rx") which asked drivers not to update is, unless really needed. However, this commend was removed in commit f8ff080dacec ("bonding: remove useless updating of slave->dev->last_rx"), so some drivers added later on still did update last_rx. Remove all usage of last_rx and switch three drivers (sky2, atp and smc91c92_cs) which actually read and write it to use their own private copy in netdev_priv. Compile-tested with allyesconfig and allmodconfig on x86 and arm. Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com> Cc: Jay Vosburgh <j.vosburgh@gmail.com> Cc: Veaceslav Falico <vfalico@gmail.com> Cc: Andy Gospodarek <andy@greyhouse.net> Cc: Mirko Lindner <mlindner@marvell.com> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org> Signed-off-by: Tobias Klauser <tklauser@distanz.ch> Acked-by: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com> Reviewed-by: Jay Vosburgh <jay.vosburgh@canonical.com> Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/net/ethernet/smsc')
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/ethernet/smsc/smc91c92_cs.c6
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/smsc/smc91c92_cs.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/smsc/smc91c92_cs.c
index 67154621abcf..97280daba27f 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/smsc/smc91c92_cs.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/smsc/smc91c92_cs.c
@@ -113,6 +113,7 @@ struct smc_private {
struct mii_if_info mii_if;
int duplex;
int rx_ovrn;
+ unsigned long last_rx;
};
/* Special definitions for Megahertz multifunction cards */
@@ -1491,6 +1492,7 @@ static void smc_rx(struct net_device *dev)
if (!(rx_status & RS_ERRORS)) {
/* do stuff to make a new packet */
struct sk_buff *skb;
+ struct smc_private *smc = netdev_priv(dev);
/* Note: packet_length adds 5 or 6 extra bytes here! */
skb = netdev_alloc_skb(dev, packet_length+2);
@@ -1509,7 +1511,7 @@ static void smc_rx(struct net_device *dev)
skb->protocol = eth_type_trans(skb, dev);
netif_rx(skb);
- dev->last_rx = jiffies;
+ smc->last_rx = jiffies;
dev->stats.rx_packets++;
dev->stats.rx_bytes += packet_length;
if (rx_status & RS_MULTICAST)
@@ -1790,7 +1792,7 @@ static void media_check(u_long arg)
}
/* Ignore collisions unless we've had no rx's recently */
- if (time_after(jiffies, dev->last_rx + HZ)) {
+ if (time_after(jiffies, smc->last_rx + HZ)) {
if (smc->tx_err || (smc->media_status & EPH_16COL))
media |= EPH_16COL;
}