aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>2019-07-18 15:57:06 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-07-18 17:08:06 -0700
commit4c4b7f9ba9486c565aead99a198ceeef73ae81f6 (patch)
tree8830e026e9ae8704050ca76f1253c34663c78957 /drivers
parentmm/memory_hotplug: drop MHP_MEMBLOCK_API (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-4c4b7f9ba9486c565aead99a198ceeef73ae81f6.tar.xz
linux-dev-4c4b7f9ba9486c565aead99a198ceeef73ae81f6.zip
mm/memory_hotplug: remove memory block devices before arch_remove_memory()
Let's factor out removing of memory block devices, which is only necessary for memory added via add_memory() and friends that created memory block devices. Remove the devices before calling arch_remove_memory(). This finishes factoring out memory block device handling from arch_add_memory() and arch_remove_memory(). Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190527111152.16324-10-david@redhat.com Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org> Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Cc: "mike.travis@hpe.com" <mike.travis@hpe.com> Cc: Andrew Banman <andrew.banman@hpe.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org> Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Cc: Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com> Cc: Arun KS <arunks@codeaurora.org> Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chintan Pandya <cpandya@codeaurora.org> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers')
-rw-r--r--drivers/base/memory.c37
-rw-r--r--drivers/base/node.c11
2 files changed, 24 insertions, 24 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/base/memory.c b/drivers/base/memory.c
index 18a30c3ac0ef..826dd76f662e 100644
--- a/drivers/base/memory.c
+++ b/drivers/base/memory.c
@@ -759,32 +759,31 @@ int create_memory_block_devices(unsigned long start, unsigned long size)
return ret;
}
-void unregister_memory_section(struct mem_section *section)
+/*
+ * Remove memory block devices for the given memory area. Start and size
+ * have to be aligned to memory block granularity. Memory block devices
+ * have to be offline.
+ */
+void remove_memory_block_devices(unsigned long start, unsigned long size)
{
+ const int start_block_id = pfn_to_block_id(PFN_DOWN(start));
+ const int end_block_id = pfn_to_block_id(PFN_DOWN(start + size));
struct memory_block *mem;
+ int block_id;
- if (WARN_ON_ONCE(!present_section(section)))
+ if (WARN_ON_ONCE(!IS_ALIGNED(start, memory_block_size_bytes()) ||
+ !IS_ALIGNED(size, memory_block_size_bytes())))
return;
mutex_lock(&mem_sysfs_mutex);
-
- /*
- * Some users of the memory hotplug do not want/need memblock to
- * track all sections. Skip over those.
- */
- mem = find_memory_block(section);
- if (!mem)
- goto out_unlock;
-
- unregister_mem_sect_under_nodes(mem, __section_nr(section));
-
- mem->section_count--;
- if (mem->section_count == 0)
+ for (block_id = start_block_id; block_id != end_block_id; block_id++) {
+ mem = find_memory_block_by_id(block_id, NULL);
+ if (WARN_ON_ONCE(!mem))
+ continue;
+ mem->section_count = 0;
+ unregister_memory_block_under_nodes(mem);
unregister_memory(mem);
- else
- put_device(&mem->dev);
-
-out_unlock:
+ }
mutex_unlock(&mem_sysfs_mutex);
}
diff --git a/drivers/base/node.c b/drivers/base/node.c
index aa878fbcf705..0b0f38c2c7cd 100644
--- a/drivers/base/node.c
+++ b/drivers/base/node.c
@@ -802,9 +802,10 @@ int register_mem_sect_under_node(struct memory_block *mem_blk, void *arg)
return 0;
}
-/* unregister memory section under all nodes that it spans */
-int unregister_mem_sect_under_nodes(struct memory_block *mem_blk,
- unsigned long phys_index)
+/*
+ * Unregister memory block device under all nodes that it spans.
+ */
+int unregister_memory_block_under_nodes(struct memory_block *mem_blk)
{
NODEMASK_ALLOC(nodemask_t, unlinked_nodes, GFP_KERNEL);
unsigned long pfn, sect_start_pfn, sect_end_pfn;
@@ -817,8 +818,8 @@ int unregister_mem_sect_under_nodes(struct memory_block *mem_blk,
return -ENOMEM;
nodes_clear(*unlinked_nodes);
- sect_start_pfn = section_nr_to_pfn(phys_index);
- sect_end_pfn = sect_start_pfn + PAGES_PER_SECTION - 1;
+ sect_start_pfn = section_nr_to_pfn(mem_blk->start_section_nr);
+ sect_end_pfn = section_nr_to_pfn(mem_blk->end_section_nr);
for (pfn = sect_start_pfn; pfn <= sect_end_pfn; pfn++) {
int nid;