aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/fs/splice.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>2015-06-24 16:58:06 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-06-24 17:49:44 -0700
commit6afdb859b71019143b8eecda02b8b29b03185055 (patch)
tree4b7700350fc54a4e531dfd9f9d63c02be75ab4d3 /fs/splice.c
parentmm/cma.c: fix typos in comments (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-6afdb859b71019143b8eecda02b8b29b03185055.tar.xz
linux-dev-6afdb859b71019143b8eecda02b8b29b03185055.zip
mm: do not ignore mapping_gfp_mask in page cache allocation paths
page_cache_read, do_generic_file_read, __generic_file_splice_read and __ntfs_grab_cache_pages currently ignore mapping_gfp_mask when calling add_to_page_cache_lru which might cause recursion into fs down in the direct reclaim path if the mapping really relies on GFP_NOFS semantic. This doesn't seem to be the case now because page_cache_read (page fault path) doesn't seem to suffer from the reclaim recursion issues and do_generic_file_read and __generic_file_splice_read also shouldn't be called under fs locks which would deadlock in the reclaim path. Anyway it is better to obey mapping gfp mask and prevent from later breakage. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] Signed-off-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> Cc: Anton Altaparmakov <anton@tuxera.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'fs/splice.c')
-rw-r--r--fs/splice.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/fs/splice.c b/fs/splice.c
index bfe62ae40f40..0efef17e9bfa 100644
--- a/fs/splice.c
+++ b/fs/splice.c
@@ -359,7 +359,7 @@ __generic_file_splice_read(struct file *in, loff_t *ppos,
break;
error = add_to_page_cache_lru(page, mapping, index,
- GFP_KERNEL);
+ GFP_KERNEL & mapping_gfp_mask(mapping));
if (unlikely(error)) {
page_cache_release(page);
if (error == -EEXIST)