aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/ksm.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKonstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org>2012-10-08 16:29:02 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-10-09 16:22:19 +0900
commit314e51b9851b4f4e8ab302243ff5a6fc6147f379 (patch)
treef757b89206355fd129830782566768693eed23ce /mm/ksm.c
parentmm: prepare VM_DONTDUMP for using in drivers (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-314e51b9851b4f4e8ab302243ff5a6fc6147f379.tar.xz
linux-dev-314e51b9851b4f4e8ab302243ff5a6fc6147f379.zip
mm: kill vma flag VM_RESERVED and mm->reserved_vm counter
A long time ago, in v2.4, VM_RESERVED kept swapout process off VMA, currently it lost original meaning but still has some effects: | effect | alternative flags -+------------------------+--------------------------------------------- 1| account as reserved_vm | VM_IO 2| skip in core dump | VM_IO, VM_DONTDUMP 3| do not merge or expand | VM_IO, VM_DONTEXPAND, VM_HUGETLB, VM_PFNMAP 4| do not mlock | VM_IO, VM_DONTEXPAND, VM_HUGETLB, VM_PFNMAP This patch removes reserved_vm counter from mm_struct. Seems like nobody cares about it, it does not exported into userspace directly, it only reduces total_vm showed in proc. Thus VM_RESERVED can be replaced with VM_IO or pair VM_DONTEXPAND | VM_DONTDUMP. remap_pfn_range() and io_remap_pfn_range() set VM_IO|VM_DONTEXPAND|VM_DONTDUMP. remap_vmalloc_range() set VM_DONTEXPAND | VM_DONTDUMP. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: drivers/vfio/pci/vfio_pci.c fixup] Signed-off-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Carsten Otte <cotte@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com> Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com> Cc: Kentaro Takeda <takedakn@nttdata.co.jp> Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com> Cc: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com> Acked-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to '')
-rw-r--r--mm/ksm.c3
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/mm/ksm.c b/mm/ksm.c
index f9ccb16559ee..9638620a7530 100644
--- a/mm/ksm.c
+++ b/mm/ksm.c
@@ -1469,8 +1469,7 @@ int ksm_madvise(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long start,
*/
if (*vm_flags & (VM_MERGEABLE | VM_SHARED | VM_MAYSHARE |
VM_PFNMAP | VM_IO | VM_DONTEXPAND |
- VM_RESERVED | VM_HUGETLB |
- VM_NONLINEAR | VM_MIXEDMAP))
+ VM_HUGETLB | VM_NONLINEAR | VM_MIXEDMAP))
return 0; /* just ignore the advice */
#ifdef VM_SAO