aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/memory_hotplug.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>2019-09-23 15:35:49 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-09-24 15:54:09 -0700
commitb6c88d3b9d38f9448e0fcf44847a075ea81d5ca2 (patch)
treeba7ccb02002fd017c8632a0698032c598ef090e7 /mm/memory_hotplug.c
parentdriver/base/memory.c: validate memory block size early (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-b6c88d3b9d38f9448e0fcf44847a075ea81d5ca2.tar.xz
linux-dev-b6c88d3b9d38f9448e0fcf44847a075ea81d5ca2.zip
drivers/base/memory.c: don't store end_section_nr in memory blocks
Each memory block spans the same amount of sections/pages/bytes. The size is determined before the first memory block is created. No need to store what we can easily calculate - and the calculations even look simpler now. Michal brought up the idea of variable-sized memory blocks. However, if we ever implement something like this, we will need an API compatibility switch and reworks at various places (most code assumes a fixed memory block size). So let's cleanup what we have right now. While at it, fix the variable naming in register_mem_sect_under_node() - we no longer talk about a single section. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190809110200.2746-1-david@redhat.com Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to '')
-rw-r--r--mm/memory_hotplug.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/memory_hotplug.c b/mm/memory_hotplug.c
index 5b8811945bbb..3706a137d880 100644
--- a/mm/memory_hotplug.c
+++ b/mm/memory_hotplug.c
@@ -1654,7 +1654,7 @@ static int check_memblock_offlined_cb(struct memory_block *mem, void *arg)
phys_addr_t beginpa, endpa;
beginpa = PFN_PHYS(section_nr_to_pfn(mem->start_section_nr));
- endpa = PFN_PHYS(section_nr_to_pfn(mem->end_section_nr + 1))-1;
+ endpa = beginpa + memory_block_size_bytes() - 1;
pr_warn("removing memory fails, because memory [%pa-%pa] is onlined\n",
&beginpa, &endpa);