aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/memory_hotplug.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>2019-07-18 15:56:25 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-07-18 17:08:06 -0700
commitcec3ebd083d4e8d161d0b18894c78e3311bcd026 (patch)
tree75bb0c67ade1ac6a382306ab3eca09007b79c30b /mm/memory_hotplug.c
parentMerge tag 'sound-fix-5.3-rc1' of git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/tiwai/sound (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-cec3ebd083d4e8d161d0b18894c78e3311bcd026.tar.xz
linux-dev-cec3ebd083d4e8d161d0b18894c78e3311bcd026.zip
mm/memory_hotplug: simplify and fix check_hotplug_memory_range()
Patch series "mm/memory_hotplug: Factor out memory block devicehandling", v3. We only want memory block devices for memory to be onlined/offlined (add/remove from the buddy). This is required so user space can online/offline memory and kdump gets notified about newly onlined memory. Let's factor out creation/removal of memory block devices. This helps to further cleanup arch_add_memory/arch_remove_memory() and to make implementation of new features easier - especially sub-section memory hot add from Dan. Anshuman Khandual is currently working on arch_remove_memory(). I added a temporary solution via "arm64/mm: Add temporary arch_remove_memory() implementation", that is sufficient as a firsts tep in the context of this series. (we don't cleanup page tables in case anything goes wrong already) Did a quick sanity test with DIMM plug/unplug, making sure all devices and sysfs links properly get added/removed. Compile tested on s390x and x86-64. This patch (of 11): By converting start and size to page granularity, we actually ignore unaligned parts within a page instead of properly bailing out with an error. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190527111152.16324-2-david@redhat.com Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com> Reviewed-by: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com> Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw> Cc: Arun KS <arunks@codeaurora.org> Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org> Cc: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com> Cc: Andrew Banman <andrew.banman@hpe.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chintan Pandya <cpandya@codeaurora.org> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com> Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: "mike.travis@hpe.com" <mike.travis@hpe.com> Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to '')
-rw-r--r--mm/memory_hotplug.c11
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 8 deletions
diff --git a/mm/memory_hotplug.c b/mm/memory_hotplug.c
index 4ebe696138e8..a8c25fd85ee3 100644
--- a/mm/memory_hotplug.c
+++ b/mm/memory_hotplug.c
@@ -1049,16 +1049,11 @@ int try_online_node(int nid)
static int check_hotplug_memory_range(u64 start, u64 size)
{
- unsigned long block_sz = memory_block_size_bytes();
- u64 block_nr_pages = block_sz >> PAGE_SHIFT;
- u64 nr_pages = size >> PAGE_SHIFT;
- u64 start_pfn = PFN_DOWN(start);
-
/* memory range must be block size aligned */
- if (!nr_pages || !IS_ALIGNED(start_pfn, block_nr_pages) ||
- !IS_ALIGNED(nr_pages, block_nr_pages)) {
+ if (!size || !IS_ALIGNED(start, memory_block_size_bytes()) ||
+ !IS_ALIGNED(size, memory_block_size_bytes())) {
pr_err("Block size [%#lx] unaligned hotplug range: start %#llx, size %#llx",
- block_sz, start, size);
+ memory_block_size_bytes(), start, size);
return -EINVAL;
}