aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/swap_state.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorShaohua Li <shli@fb.com>2017-10-03 16:15:32 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-10-03 17:54:25 -0700
commit9625456cc76391b7f3f2809579126542a8ed4d39 (patch)
tree136419434de60d451681866860a4bf1b591e4881 /mm/swap_state.c
parentmm: avoid marking swap cached page as lazyfree (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-9625456cc76391b7f3f2809579126542a8ed4d39.tar.xz
linux-dev-9625456cc76391b7f3f2809579126542a8ed4d39.zip
mm: fix data corruption caused by lazyfree page
MADV_FREE clears pte dirty bit and then marks the page lazyfree (clear SwapBacked). There is no lock to prevent the page is added to swap cache between these two steps by page reclaim. If page reclaim finds such page, it will simply add the page to swap cache without pageout the page to swap because the page is marked as clean. Next time, page fault will read data from the swap slot which doesn't have the original data, so we have a data corruption. To fix issue, we mark the page dirty and pageout the page. However, we shouldn't dirty all pages which is clean and in swap cache. swapin page is swap cache and clean too. So we only dirty page which is added into swap cache in page reclaim, which shouldn't be swapin page. As Minchan suggested, simply dirty the page in add_to_swap can do the job. Fixes: 802a3a92ad7a ("mm: reclaim MADV_FREE pages") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/08c84256b007bf3f63c91d94383bd9eb6fee2daa.1506446061.git.shli@fb.com Signed-off-by: Shaohua Li <shli@fb.com> Reported-by: Artem Savkov <asavkov@redhat.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Acked-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Hillf Danton <hdanton@sina.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> [4.12+] Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/swap_state.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/swap_state.c11
1 files changed, 11 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/mm/swap_state.c b/mm/swap_state.c
index 71ce2d1ccbf7..ed91091d1e68 100644
--- a/mm/swap_state.c
+++ b/mm/swap_state.c
@@ -242,6 +242,17 @@ int add_to_swap(struct page *page)
* clear SWAP_HAS_CACHE flag.
*/
goto fail;
+ /*
+ * Normally the page will be dirtied in unmap because its pte should be
+ * dirty. A special case is MADV_FREE page. The page'e pte could have
+ * dirty bit cleared but the page's SwapBacked bit is still set because
+ * clearing the dirty bit and SwapBacked bit has no lock protected. For
+ * such page, unmap will not set dirty bit for it, so page reclaim will
+ * not write the page out. This can cause data corruption when the page
+ * is swap in later. Always setting the dirty bit for the page solves
+ * the problem.
+ */
+ set_page_dirty(page);
return 1;