aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/vmalloc.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJan Beulich <JBeulich@novell.com>2009-09-21 17:03:05 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2009-09-22 07:17:38 -0700
commit4481374ce88ba8f460c8b89f2572027bd27057d0 (patch)
tree6896601b6a1da0e3e932ffa75fcff966c834c02c /mm/vmalloc.c
parentmemory hotplug: fix updating of num_physpages for hot plugged memory (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-4481374ce88ba8f460c8b89f2572027bd27057d0.tar.xz
linux-dev-4481374ce88ba8f460c8b89f2572027bd27057d0.zip
mm: replace various uses of num_physpages by totalram_pages
Sizing of memory allocations shouldn't depend on the number of physical pages found in a system, as that generally includes (perhaps a huge amount of) non-RAM pages. The amount of what actually is usable as storage should instead be used as a basis here. Some of the calculations (i.e. those not intending to use high memory) should likely even use (totalram_pages - totalhigh_pages). Signed-off-by: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@novell.com> Acked-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@linux.ie> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Patrick McHardy <kaber@trash.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to '')
-rw-r--r--mm/vmalloc.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/mm/vmalloc.c b/mm/vmalloc.c
index 9216b2555d07..5535da1d6961 100644
--- a/mm/vmalloc.c
+++ b/mm/vmalloc.c
@@ -1386,7 +1386,7 @@ void *vmap(struct page **pages, unsigned int count,
might_sleep();
- if (count > num_physpages)
+ if (count > totalram_pages)
return NULL;
area = get_vm_area_caller((count << PAGE_SHIFT), flags,
@@ -1493,7 +1493,7 @@ static void *__vmalloc_node(unsigned long size, gfp_t gfp_mask, pgprot_t prot,
unsigned long real_size = size;
size = PAGE_ALIGN(size);
- if (!size || (size >> PAGE_SHIFT) > num_physpages)
+ if (!size || (size >> PAGE_SHIFT) > totalram_pages)
return NULL;
area = __get_vm_area_node(size, VM_ALLOC, VMALLOC_START, VMALLOC_END,