aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSteven Price <steven.price@arm.com>2020-02-03 17:36:20 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-02-04 03:05:25 +0000
commit30d621f6723b1c98a142861f7a52849d286bc7fa (patch)
tree78eae926c8b4351899aff65881dd6fc5aea064f1 /mm
parentx86: mm: convert ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs() to take an mm_struct (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-30d621f6723b1c98a142861f7a52849d286bc7fa.tar.xz
linux-dev-30d621f6723b1c98a142861f7a52849d286bc7fa.zip
mm: add generic ptdump
Add a generic version of page table dumping that architectures can opt-in to. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191218162402.45610-20-steven.price@arm.com Signed-off-by: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com> Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu> Cc: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com> Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: "Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Zong Li <zong.li@sifive.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/Kconfig.debug21
-rw-r--r--mm/Makefile1
-rw-r--r--mm/ptdump.c139
3 files changed, 161 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/mm/Kconfig.debug b/mm/Kconfig.debug
index 327b3ebf23bf..0271b22e063f 100644
--- a/mm/Kconfig.debug
+++ b/mm/Kconfig.debug
@@ -117,3 +117,24 @@ config DEBUG_RODATA_TEST
depends on STRICT_KERNEL_RWX
---help---
This option enables a testcase for the setting rodata read-only.
+
+config GENERIC_PTDUMP
+ bool
+
+config PTDUMP_CORE
+ bool
+
+config PTDUMP_DEBUGFS
+ bool "Export kernel pagetable layout to userspace via debugfs"
+ depends on DEBUG_KERNEL
+ depends on DEBUG_FS
+ depends on GENERIC_PTDUMP
+ select PTDUMP_CORE
+ help
+ Say Y here if you want to show the kernel pagetable layout in a
+ debugfs file. This information is only useful for kernel developers
+ who are working in architecture specific areas of the kernel.
+ It is probably not a good idea to enable this feature in a production
+ kernel.
+
+ If in doubt, say N.
diff --git a/mm/Makefile b/mm/Makefile
index 32f08e22e824..272e66039e70 100644
--- a/mm/Makefile
+++ b/mm/Makefile
@@ -109,3 +109,4 @@ obj-$(CONFIG_ZONE_DEVICE) += memremap.o
obj-$(CONFIG_HMM_MIRROR) += hmm.o
obj-$(CONFIG_MEMFD_CREATE) += memfd.o
obj-$(CONFIG_MAPPING_DIRTY_HELPERS) += mapping_dirty_helpers.o
+obj-$(CONFIG_PTDUMP_CORE) += ptdump.o
diff --git a/mm/ptdump.c b/mm/ptdump.c
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..868638b8e404
--- /dev/null
+++ b/mm/ptdump.c
@@ -0,0 +1,139 @@
+// SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0
+
+#include <linux/pagewalk.h>
+#include <linux/ptdump.h>
+#include <linux/kasan.h>
+
+#ifdef CONFIG_KASAN
+/*
+ * This is an optimization for KASAN=y case. Since all kasan page tables
+ * eventually point to the kasan_early_shadow_page we could call note_page()
+ * right away without walking through lower level page tables. This saves
+ * us dozens of seconds (minutes for 5-level config) while checking for
+ * W+X mapping or reading kernel_page_tables debugfs file.
+ */
+static inline int note_kasan_page_table(struct mm_walk *walk,
+ unsigned long addr)
+{
+ struct ptdump_state *st = walk->private;
+
+ st->note_page(st, addr, 5, pte_val(kasan_early_shadow_pte[0]));
+
+ walk->action = ACTION_CONTINUE;
+
+ return 0;
+}
+#endif
+
+static int ptdump_pgd_entry(pgd_t *pgd, unsigned long addr,
+ unsigned long next, struct mm_walk *walk)
+{
+ struct ptdump_state *st = walk->private;
+ pgd_t val = READ_ONCE(*pgd);
+
+#if CONFIG_PGTABLE_LEVELS > 4 && defined(CONFIG_KASAN)
+ if (pgd_page(val) == virt_to_page(lm_alias(kasan_early_shadow_p4d)))
+ return note_kasan_page_table(walk, addr);
+#endif
+
+ if (pgd_leaf(val))
+ st->note_page(st, addr, 1, pgd_val(val));
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
+static int ptdump_p4d_entry(p4d_t *p4d, unsigned long addr,
+ unsigned long next, struct mm_walk *walk)
+{
+ struct ptdump_state *st = walk->private;
+ p4d_t val = READ_ONCE(*p4d);
+
+#if CONFIG_PGTABLE_LEVELS > 3 && defined(CONFIG_KASAN)
+ if (p4d_page(val) == virt_to_page(lm_alias(kasan_early_shadow_pud)))
+ return note_kasan_page_table(walk, addr);
+#endif
+
+ if (p4d_leaf(val))
+ st->note_page(st, addr, 2, p4d_val(val));
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
+static int ptdump_pud_entry(pud_t *pud, unsigned long addr,
+ unsigned long next, struct mm_walk *walk)
+{
+ struct ptdump_state *st = walk->private;
+ pud_t val = READ_ONCE(*pud);
+
+#if CONFIG_PGTABLE_LEVELS > 2 && defined(CONFIG_KASAN)
+ if (pud_page(val) == virt_to_page(lm_alias(kasan_early_shadow_pmd)))
+ return note_kasan_page_table(walk, addr);
+#endif
+
+ if (pud_leaf(val))
+ st->note_page(st, addr, 3, pud_val(val));
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
+static int ptdump_pmd_entry(pmd_t *pmd, unsigned long addr,
+ unsigned long next, struct mm_walk *walk)
+{
+ struct ptdump_state *st = walk->private;
+ pmd_t val = READ_ONCE(*pmd);
+
+#if defined(CONFIG_KASAN)
+ if (pmd_page(val) == virt_to_page(lm_alias(kasan_early_shadow_pte)))
+ return note_kasan_page_table(walk, addr);
+#endif
+
+ if (pmd_leaf(val))
+ st->note_page(st, addr, 4, pmd_val(val));
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
+static int ptdump_pte_entry(pte_t *pte, unsigned long addr,
+ unsigned long next, struct mm_walk *walk)
+{
+ struct ptdump_state *st = walk->private;
+
+ st->note_page(st, addr, 5, pte_val(READ_ONCE(*pte)));
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
+static int ptdump_hole(unsigned long addr, unsigned long next,
+ int depth, struct mm_walk *walk)
+{
+ struct ptdump_state *st = walk->private;
+
+ st->note_page(st, addr, depth + 1, 0);
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
+static const struct mm_walk_ops ptdump_ops = {
+ .pgd_entry = ptdump_pgd_entry,
+ .p4d_entry = ptdump_p4d_entry,
+ .pud_entry = ptdump_pud_entry,
+ .pmd_entry = ptdump_pmd_entry,
+ .pte_entry = ptdump_pte_entry,
+ .pte_hole = ptdump_hole,
+};
+
+void ptdump_walk_pgd(struct ptdump_state *st, struct mm_struct *mm)
+{
+ const struct ptdump_range *range = st->range;
+
+ down_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
+ while (range->start != range->end) {
+ walk_page_range_novma(mm, range->start, range->end,
+ &ptdump_ops, st);
+ range++;
+ }
+ up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
+
+ /* Flush out the last page */
+ st->note_page(st, 0, 0, 0);
+}