aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSteven Price <steven.price@arm.com>2020-02-03 17:36:42 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-02-04 03:05:25 +0000
commite47690d756a760579141560ded06ec1020dd85e8 (patch)
treeb81cb0311e9b565111d512b278b77d02b260e2d4 /mm
parentmm: ptdump: reduce level numbers by 1 in note_page() (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-e47690d756a760579141560ded06ec1020dd85e8.tar.xz
linux-dev-e47690d756a760579141560ded06ec1020dd85e8.zip
x86: mm: avoid allocating struct mm_struct on the stack
struct mm_struct is quite large (~1664 bytes) and so allocating on the stack may cause problems as the kernel stack size is small. Since ptdump_walk_pgd_level_core() was only allocating the structure so that it could modify the pgd argument we can instead introduce a pgd override in struct mm_walk and pass this down the call stack to where it is needed. Since the correct mm_struct is now being passed down, it is now also unnecessary to take the mmap_sem semaphore because ptdump_walk_pgd() will now take the semaphore on the real mm. [steven.price@arm.com: restore missed arm64 changes] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200108145710.34314-1-steven.price@arm.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200108145710.34314-1-steven.price@arm.com Signed-off-by: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com> Reported-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu> Cc: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com> Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: "Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Zong Li <zong.li@sifive.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/pagewalk.c7
-rw-r--r--mm/ptdump.c4
2 files changed, 8 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/mm/pagewalk.c b/mm/pagewalk.c
index 5895ce4f1a85..928df1638c30 100644
--- a/mm/pagewalk.c
+++ b/mm/pagewalk.c
@@ -206,7 +206,10 @@ static int walk_pgd_range(unsigned long addr, unsigned long end,
const struct mm_walk_ops *ops = walk->ops;
int err = 0;
- pgd = pgd_offset(walk->mm, addr);
+ if (walk->pgd)
+ pgd = walk->pgd + pgd_index(addr);
+ else
+ pgd = pgd_offset(walk->mm, addr);
do {
next = pgd_addr_end(addr, end);
if (pgd_none_or_clear_bad(pgd)) {
@@ -436,11 +439,13 @@ int walk_page_range(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
*/
int walk_page_range_novma(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
unsigned long end, const struct mm_walk_ops *ops,
+ pgd_t *pgd,
void *private)
{
struct mm_walk walk = {
.ops = ops,
.mm = mm,
+ .pgd = pgd,
.private = private,
.no_vma = true
};
diff --git a/mm/ptdump.c b/mm/ptdump.c
index ad18a9839d6f..26208d0d03b7 100644
--- a/mm/ptdump.c
+++ b/mm/ptdump.c
@@ -122,14 +122,14 @@ static const struct mm_walk_ops ptdump_ops = {
.pte_hole = ptdump_hole,
};
-void ptdump_walk_pgd(struct ptdump_state *st, struct mm_struct *mm)
+void ptdump_walk_pgd(struct ptdump_state *st, struct mm_struct *mm, pgd_t *pgd)
{
const struct ptdump_range *range = st->range;
down_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
while (range->start != range->end) {
walk_page_range_novma(mm, range->start, range->end,
- &ptdump_ops, st);
+ &ptdump_ops, pgd, st);
range++;
}
up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);