aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/net/ipv4/inet_hashtables.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>2017-05-08 15:57:27 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-05-08 17:15:13 -0700
commit752ade68cbd81d0321dfecc188f655a945551b25 (patch)
tree34b2ba4cabedb829639c925b7b38dd2f73aa02a9 /net/ipv4/inet_hashtables.c
parentfs/xattr.c: zero out memory copied to userspace in getxattr (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-752ade68cbd81d0321dfecc188f655a945551b25.tar.xz
linux-dev-752ade68cbd81d0321dfecc188f655a945551b25.zip
treewide: use kv[mz]alloc* rather than opencoded variants
There are many code paths opencoding kvmalloc. Let's use the helper instead. The main difference to kvmalloc is that those users are usually not considering all the aspects of the memory allocator. E.g. allocation requests <= 32kB (with 4kB pages) are basically never failing and invoke OOM killer to satisfy the allocation. This sounds too disruptive for something that has a reasonable fallback - the vmalloc. On the other hand those requests might fallback to vmalloc even when the memory allocator would succeed after several more reclaim/compaction attempts previously. There is no guarantee something like that happens though. This patch converts many of those places to kv[mz]alloc* helpers because they are more conservative. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170306103327.2766-2-mhocko@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Reviewed-by: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> # Xen bits Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Acked-by: Andreas Dilger <andreas.dilger@intel.com> # Lustre Acked-by: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> # KVM/s390 Acked-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> # nvdim Acked-by: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com> # btrfs Acked-by: Ilya Dryomov <idryomov@gmail.com> # Ceph Acked-by: Tariq Toukan <tariqt@mellanox.com> # mlx4 Acked-by: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@mellanox.com> # mlx5 Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au> Cc: Anton Vorontsov <anton@enomsg.org> Cc: Colin Cross <ccross@android.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: Ben Skeggs <bskeggs@redhat.com> Cc: Kent Overstreet <kent.overstreet@gmail.com> Cc: Santosh Raspatur <santosh@chelsio.com> Cc: Hariprasad S <hariprasad@chelsio.com> Cc: Yishai Hadas <yishaih@mellanox.com> Cc: Oleg Drokin <oleg.drokin@intel.com> Cc: "Yan, Zheng" <zyan@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org> Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com> Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'net/ipv4/inet_hashtables.c')
-rw-r--r--net/ipv4/inet_hashtables.c6
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/net/ipv4/inet_hashtables.c b/net/ipv4/inet_hashtables.c
index 8bea74298173..e9a59d2d91d4 100644
--- a/net/ipv4/inet_hashtables.c
+++ b/net/ipv4/inet_hashtables.c
@@ -678,11 +678,7 @@ int inet_ehash_locks_alloc(struct inet_hashinfo *hashinfo)
/* no more locks than number of hash buckets */
nblocks = min(nblocks, hashinfo->ehash_mask + 1);
- hashinfo->ehash_locks = kmalloc_array(nblocks, locksz,
- GFP_KERNEL | __GFP_NOWARN);
- if (!hashinfo->ehash_locks)
- hashinfo->ehash_locks = vmalloc(nblocks * locksz);
-
+ hashinfo->ehash_locks = kvmalloc_array(nblocks, locksz, GFP_KERNEL);
if (!hashinfo->ehash_locks)
return -ENOMEM;