aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/scripts/checkpatch.pl
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJoe Perches <joe@perches.com>2017-11-17 15:28:44 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-11-17 16:10:02 -0800
commitcc147506bef96f31af799afe94d0c0e81161ee6c (patch)
treef40ccf222dbee577ea597c1ba363905e86dcaabe /scripts/checkpatch.pl
parentcheckpatch: printks always need a KERN_<LEVEL> (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-cc147506bef96f31af799afe94d0c0e81161ee6c.tar.xz
linux-dev-cc147506bef96f31af799afe94d0c0e81161ee6c.zip
checkpatch: allow DEFINE_PER_CPU definitions to exceed line length
Some of the definitions are very long and can't be split into multiple lines because ctags is limited. Exempt these lines from the line length checks. See commit 25528213fe9f ("tags: Fix DEFINE_PER_CPU expansions") for more details. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1508170320.6530.15.camel@perches.com Signed-off-by: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> Acked-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org> Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to '')
-rwxr-xr-xscripts/checkpatch.pl5
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/scripts/checkpatch.pl b/scripts/checkpatch.pl
index 2a8c6c3c1bdb..5fa0f5467d99 100755
--- a/scripts/checkpatch.pl
+++ b/scripts/checkpatch.pl
@@ -2900,8 +2900,9 @@ sub process {
$line =~ /^\+\s*#\s*define\s+\w+\s+$String$/) {
$msg_type = "";
- # EFI_GUID is another special case
- } elsif ($line =~ /^\+.*\bEFI_GUID\s*\(/) {
+ # More special cases
+ } elsif ($line =~ /^\+.*\bEFI_GUID\s*\(/ ||
+ $line =~ /^\+\s*(?:\w+)?\s*DEFINE_PER_CPU/) {
$msg_type = "";
# Otherwise set the alternate message types