aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/scripts/get_maintainer.pl
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDouglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>2020-02-20 20:04:12 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-02-21 11:22:15 -0800
commit0ef82fcefb99300ede6f4d38a8100845b2dc8e30 (patch)
tree898aea2effd80ac5816046680523049a29bd2faa /scripts/get_maintainer.pl
parentget_maintainer: remove uses of P: for maintainer name (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-0ef82fcefb99300ede6f4d38a8100845b2dc8e30.tar.xz
linux-dev-0ef82fcefb99300ede6f4d38a8100845b2dc8e30.zip
scripts/get_maintainer.pl: deprioritize old Fixes: addresses
Recently, I found that get_maintainer was causing me to send emails to the old addresses for maintainers. Since I usually just trust the output of get_maintainer to know the right email address, I didn't even look carefully and fired off two patch series that went to the wrong place. Oops. The problem was introduced recently when trying to add signatures from Fixes. The problem was that these email addresses were added too early in the process of compiling our list of places to send. Things added to the list earlier are considered more canonical and when we later added maintainer entries we ended up deduplicating to the old address. Here are two examples using mainline commits (to make it easier to replicate) for the two maintainers that I messed up recently: $ git format-patch d8549bcd0529~..d8549bcd0529 $ ./scripts/get_maintainer.pl 0001-clk-Add-clk_hw*.patch | grep Boyd Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>... $ git format-patch 6d1238aa3395~..6d1238aa3395 $ ./scripts/get_maintainer.pl 0001-arm64-dts-qcom-qcs404*.patch | grep Andy Andy Gross <andy.gross@linaro.org> Let's move the adding of addresses from Fixes: to the end since the email addresses from these are much more likely to be older. After this patch the above examples get the right addresses for the two examples. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200127095001.1.I41fba9f33590bfd92cd01960161d8384268c6569@changeid Fixes: 2f5bd343694e ("scripts/get_maintainer.pl: add signatures from Fixes: <badcommit> lines in commit message") Signed-off-by: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org> Acked-by: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org> Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org> Cc: Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to '')
-rwxr-xr-xscripts/get_maintainer.pl8
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/scripts/get_maintainer.pl b/scripts/get_maintainer.pl
index a00156855354..6cbcd1a3e113 100755
--- a/scripts/get_maintainer.pl
+++ b/scripts/get_maintainer.pl
@@ -932,10 +932,6 @@ sub get_maintainers {
}
}
- foreach my $fix (@fixes) {
- vcs_add_commit_signers($fix, "blamed_fixes");
- }
-
foreach my $email (@email_to, @list_to) {
$email->[0] = deduplicate_email($email->[0]);
}
@@ -974,6 +970,10 @@ sub get_maintainers {
}
}
+ foreach my $fix (@fixes) {
+ vcs_add_commit_signers($fix, "blamed_fixes");
+ }
+
my @to = ();
if ($email || $email_list) {
if ($email) {