aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/security
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJann Horn <jann@thejh.net>2016-01-20 15:00:01 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-01-20 17:09:18 -0800
commit3dfb7d8cdbc7ea0c2970450e60818bb3eefbad69 (patch)
tree91de34a608a3168d6b01509d8837cbe997b6ab01 /security
parentptrace: task_stopped_code(ptrace => true) can't see TASK_STOPPED task (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-3dfb7d8cdbc7ea0c2970450e60818bb3eefbad69.tar.xz
linux-dev-3dfb7d8cdbc7ea0c2970450e60818bb3eefbad69.zip
security: let security modules use PTRACE_MODE_* with bitmasks
It looks like smack and yama weren't aware that the ptrace mode can have flags ORed into it - PTRACE_MODE_NOAUDIT until now, but only for /proc/$pid/stat, and with the PTRACE_MODE_*CREDS patch, all modes have flags ORed into them. Signed-off-by: Jann Horn <jann@thejh.net> Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Acked-by: Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com> Cc: "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge.hallyn@ubuntu.com> Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Willy Tarreau <w@1wt.eu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'security')
-rw-r--r--security/smack/smack_lsm.c8
-rw-r--r--security/yama/yama_lsm.c4
2 files changed, 5 insertions, 7 deletions
diff --git a/security/smack/smack_lsm.c b/security/smack/smack_lsm.c
index 8d85435a45d7..2d6e9bdea398 100644
--- a/security/smack/smack_lsm.c
+++ b/security/smack/smack_lsm.c
@@ -398,12 +398,10 @@ static int smk_copy_relabel(struct list_head *nhead, struct list_head *ohead,
*/
static inline unsigned int smk_ptrace_mode(unsigned int mode)
{
- switch (mode) {
- case PTRACE_MODE_READ:
- return MAY_READ;
- case PTRACE_MODE_ATTACH:
+ if (mode & PTRACE_MODE_ATTACH)
return MAY_READWRITE;
- }
+ if (mode & PTRACE_MODE_READ)
+ return MAY_READ;
return 0;
}
diff --git a/security/yama/yama_lsm.c b/security/yama/yama_lsm.c
index d3c19c970a06..cb6ed10816d4 100644
--- a/security/yama/yama_lsm.c
+++ b/security/yama/yama_lsm.c
@@ -281,7 +281,7 @@ static int yama_ptrace_access_check(struct task_struct *child,
int rc = 0;
/* require ptrace target be a child of ptracer on attach */
- if (mode == PTRACE_MODE_ATTACH) {
+ if (mode & PTRACE_MODE_ATTACH) {
switch (ptrace_scope) {
case YAMA_SCOPE_DISABLED:
/* No additional restrictions. */
@@ -307,7 +307,7 @@ static int yama_ptrace_access_check(struct task_struct *child,
}
}
- if (rc) {
+ if (rc && (mode & PTRACE_MODE_NOAUDIT) == 0) {
printk_ratelimited(KERN_NOTICE
"ptrace of pid %d was attempted by: %s (pid %d)\n",
child->pid, current->comm, current->pid);