aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/tools/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2014-12-16 13:19:23 -0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2014-12-17 11:58:15 -0300
commitbd1857948e7667313f9a7bee9b2492c0848174a6 (patch)
treee8d7afe207191f7f5808fa0f5ba62990d1435dc6 /tools/include
parentperf tools: Make the mmap length autotuning more robust (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-bd1857948e7667313f9a7bee9b2492c0848174a6.tar.xz
linux-dev-bd1857948e7667313f9a7bee9b2492c0848174a6.zip
tools: Adopt roundup_pow_of_two
To replace equivalent code used in the mmap_pages command line parameter handling in tools/perf. Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-i44zs02xt4zexfxywpklo7km@git.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/include')
-rw-r--r--tools/include/linux/log2.h25
1 files changed, 25 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/include/linux/log2.h b/tools/include/linux/log2.h
index 990b138362d6..41446668ccce 100644
--- a/tools/include/linux/log2.h
+++ b/tools/include/linux/log2.h
@@ -48,6 +48,15 @@ bool is_power_of_2(unsigned long n)
}
/*
+ * round up to nearest power of two
+ */
+static inline __attribute__((const))
+unsigned long __roundup_pow_of_two(unsigned long n)
+{
+ return 1UL << fls_long(n - 1);
+}
+
+/*
* round down to nearest power of two
*/
static inline __attribute__((const))
@@ -141,6 +150,22 @@ unsigned long __rounddown_pow_of_two(unsigned long n)
__ilog2_u64(n) \
)
+/**
+ * roundup_pow_of_two - round the given value up to nearest power of two
+ * @n - parameter
+ *
+ * round the given value up to the nearest power of two
+ * - the result is undefined when n == 0
+ * - this can be used to initialise global variables from constant data
+ */
+#define roundup_pow_of_two(n) \
+( \
+ __builtin_constant_p(n) ? ( \
+ (n == 1) ? 1 : \
+ (1UL << (ilog2((n) - 1) + 1)) \
+ ) : \
+ __roundup_pow_of_two(n) \
+ )
/**
* rounddown_pow_of_two - round the given value down to nearest power of two