aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/tools/testing/selftests
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJoerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>2020-03-21 18:22:41 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-03-21 18:56:06 -0700
commit763802b53a427ed3cbd419dbba255c414fdd9e7c (patch)
treeb6dc4f611e81120ace08263b06a014bda53f0f53 /tools/testing/selftests
parentmm, slub: prevent kmalloc_node crashes and memory leaks (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-763802b53a427ed3cbd419dbba255c414fdd9e7c.tar.xz
linux-dev-763802b53a427ed3cbd419dbba255c414fdd9e7c.zip
x86/mm: split vmalloc_sync_all()
Commit 3f8fd02b1bf1 ("mm/vmalloc: Sync unmappings in __purge_vmap_area_lazy()") introduced a call to vmalloc_sync_all() in the vunmap() code-path. While this change was necessary to maintain correctness on x86-32-pae kernels, it also adds additional cycles for architectures that don't need it. Specifically on x86-64 with CONFIG_VMAP_STACK=y some people reported severe performance regressions in micro-benchmarks because it now also calls the x86-64 implementation of vmalloc_sync_all() on vunmap(). But the vmalloc_sync_all() implementation on x86-64 is only needed for newly created mappings. To avoid the unnecessary work on x86-64 and to gain the performance back, split up vmalloc_sync_all() into two functions: * vmalloc_sync_mappings(), and * vmalloc_sync_unmappings() Most call-sites to vmalloc_sync_all() only care about new mappings being synchronized. The only exception is the new call-site added in the above mentioned commit. Shile Zhang directed us to a report of an 80% regression in reaim throughput. Fixes: 3f8fd02b1bf1 ("mm/vmalloc: Sync unmappings in __purge_vmap_area_lazy()") Reported-by: kernel test robot <oliver.sang@intel.com> Reported-by: Shile Zhang <shile.zhang@linux.alibaba.com> Signed-off-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Tested-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Acked-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> [GHES] Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191009124418.8286-1-joro@8bytes.org Link: https://lists.01.org/hyperkitty/list/lkp@lists.01.org/thread/4D3JPPHBNOSPFK2KEPC6KGKS6J25AIDB/ Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191113095530.228959-1-shile.zhang@linux.alibaba.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/testing/selftests')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions