aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c (unfollow)
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2017-03-02sched/headers: Prepare for new header dependencies before moving code to <linux/sched/task.h>Ingo Molnar1-0/+1
We are going to split <linux/sched/task.h> out of <linux/sched.h>, which will have to be picked up from other headers and a couple of .c files. Create a trivial placeholder <linux/sched/task.h> file that just maps to <linux/sched.h> to make this patch obviously correct and bisectable. Include the new header in the files that are going to need it. Acked-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
2016-03-01arch/hotplug: Call into idle with a proper stateThomas Gleixner1-1/+1
Let the non boot cpus call into idle with the corresponding hotplug state, so the hotplug core can handle the further bringup. That's a first step to convert the boot side of the hotplugged cpus to do all the synchronization with the other side through the state machine. For now it'll only start the hotplug thread and kick the full bringup of the cpu. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Rafael Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: "Srivatsa S. Bhat" <srivatsa@mit.edu> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: Sebastian Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160226182341.614102639@linutronix.de Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2015-03-10Fix weird uses of num_online_cpus().Rusty Russell1-1/+1
This may be OK in archs with contiguous CPU numbers and without hotplug CPUs, but it sets a terrible example. And open-coding it like drivers/scsi/hpsa.c is just weird. BTRFS has a weird comparison with num_online_cpus() too, but since BTRFS just screwed up my test machines' root partition, I'm not touching it :) Signed-off-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Reported-by: Oleg Drokin <green@linuxhacker.ru>
2013-07-14m32r: delete __cpuinit usage from all m32r filesPaul Gortmaker1-1/+1
The __cpuinit type of throwaway sections might have made sense some time ago when RAM was more constrained, but now the savings do not offset the cost and complications. For example, the fix in commit 5e427ec2d0 ("x86: Fix bit corruption at CPU resume time") is a good example of the nasty type of bugs that can be created with improper use of the various __init prefixes. After a discussion on LKML[1] it was decided that cpuinit should go the way of devinit and be phased out. Once all the users are gone, we can then finally remove the macros themselves from linux/init.h. Note that some harmless section mismatch warnings may result, since notify_cpu_starting() and cpu_up() are arch independent (kernel/cpu.c) are flagged as __cpuinit -- so if we remove the __cpuinit from arch specific callers, we will also get section mismatch warnings. As an intermediate step, we intend to turn the linux/init.h cpuinit content into no-ops as early as possible, since that will get rid of these warnings. In any case, they are temporary and harmless. This removes all the arch/m32r uses of the __cpuinit macros from all C files. Currently m32r does not have any __CPUINIT used in assembly files. [1] https://lkml.org/lkml/2013/5/20/589 Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: linux-m32r@ml.linux-m32r.org Cc: linux-m32r-ja@ml.linux-m32r.org Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
2013-04-08m32r: Use generic idle loopThomas Gleixner1-1/+1
Replace the private poller. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Reviewed-by: Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@gmail.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20130321215234.470547189@linutronix.de Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2013-01-03ARCH: drivers remove __dev* attributes.Greg Kroah-Hartman1-1/+1
This fixes up all of the smaller arches that had __dev* markings for their platform-specific drivers. CONFIG_HOTPLUG is going away as an option. As a result, the __dev* markings need to be removed. This change removes the use of __devinit, __devexit_p, __devinitdata, __devinitconst, and __devexit from these drivers. Based on patches originally written by Bill Pemberton, but redone by me in order to handle some of the coding style issues better, by hand. Cc: Bill Pemberton <wfp5p@virginia.edu> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@ghostprotocols.net> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn> Cc: Bob Liu <lliubbo@gmail.com> Cc: Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@st.com> Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com> Cc: Myron Stowe <myron.stowe@redhat.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org> Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <sebastian@breakpoint.cc> Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org> Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca> Cc: "Srivatsa S. Bhat" <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Yong Zhang <yong.zhang0@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Cornelia Huck <cornelia.huck@de.ibm.com> Cc: Jan Glauber <jang@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Wei Yongjun <yongjun_wei@trendmicro.com.cn> Cc: Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <nobuhiro.iwamatsu.yj@renesas.com> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
2012-04-26smp: Add task_struct argument to __cpu_up()Thomas Gleixner1-1/+1
Preparatory patch to make the idle thread allocation for secondary cpus generic. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: x86@kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120420124556.964170564@linutronix.de
2012-04-26m32r: Remove pointless function prototypesThomas Gleixner1-4/+0
Already declared in include/linux/smp.h Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120420124556.899547554@linutronix.de
2011-05-26m32r: convert cpumask apiKOSAKI Motohiro1-24/+24
We plan to remove cpus_xx() old cpumask APIs later. Also, we plan to change mm_cpu_mask() implementation, allocate only nr_cpu_ids, thus *mm_cpu_mask() is dangerous operation. Then, this patch convert them. Signed-off-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-09-24cpumask: Use accessors for cpu_*_mask: m32rRusty Russell1-1/+1
Use the accessors rather than frobbing bits directly (the new versions are const). Signed-off-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Signed-off-by: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com>
2009-09-22m32r: remove redundant tests on unsignedRoel Kluin1-1/+1
`off' and `max_cpus' are unsigned. When negative they are wrapped and caught by the other test. Signed-off-by: Roel Kluin <roel.kluin@gmail.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-01-01percpu: fix percpu accessors to potentially !cpu_possible() cpus: m32rRusty Russell1-1/+1
Impact: CPU iterator bugfixes Percpu areas are only allocated for possible cpus. In general, you shouldn't access random cpu's percpu areas. Signed-off-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Signed-off-by: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Acked-by: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
2008-12-13cpumask: centralize cpu_online_map and cpu_possible_mapRusty Russell1-6/+0
Impact: cleanup Each SMP arch defines these themselves. Move them to a central location. Twists: 1) Some archs (m32, parisc, s390) set possible_map to all 1, so we add a CONFIG_INIT_ALL_POSSIBLE for this rather than break them. 2) mips and sparc32 '#define cpu_possible_map phys_cpu_present_map'. Those archs simply have phys_cpu_present_map replaced everywhere. 3) Alpha defined cpu_possible_map to cpu_present_map; this is tricky so I just manipulate them both in sync. 4) IA64, cris and m32r have gratuitous 'extern cpumask_t cpu_possible_map' declarations. Signed-off-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Reviewed-by: Grant Grundler <grundler@parisc-linux.org> Tested-by: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com> Cc: ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru Cc: rmk@arm.linux.org.uk Cc: starvik@axis.com Cc: tony.luck@intel.com Cc: takata@linux-m32r.org Cc: ralf@linux-mips.org Cc: grundler@parisc-linux.org Cc: paulus@samba.org Cc: schwidefsky@de.ibm.com Cc: lethal@linux-sh.org Cc: wli@holomorphy.com Cc: davem@davemloft.net Cc: jdike@addtoit.com Cc: mingo@redhat.com
2008-10-16m32r: fix build due to notify_cpu_starting() changeIngo Molnar1-0/+1
fix: arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c:501: err or: implicit declaration of function 'notify_cpu_starting' make[2]: *** [arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.o] Error 1 make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs.... Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
2008-09-08kernel/cpu.c: create a CPU_STARTING cpu_chain notifierManfred Spraul1-0/+2
Right now, there is no notifier that is called on a new cpu, before the new cpu begins processing interrupts/softirqs. Various kernel function would need that notification, e.g. kvm works around by calling smp_call_function_single(), rcu polls cpu_online_map. The patch adds a CPU_STARTING notification. It also adds a helper function that sends the message to all cpu_chain handlers. Tested on x86-64. All other archs are untested. Especially on sparc, I'm not sure if I got it right. Signed-off-by: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
2008-02-07m32r: build fix of arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.cMathieu Desnoyers1-0/+1
This patch is for Mathieu Desnoyers's include/asm-m32r/local.h. Applying the new include/asm-m32r/local.h, inclusion of linux/sched.h is needed to fix a build error of arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c. <-- snip --> ... CC arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.o /project/m32r-linux/kernel/work/linux-2.6_dev.git/arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c: In function 'do_boot_cpu': /project/m32r-linux/kernel/work/linux-2.6_dev.git/arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c:279: error: implicit declaration of function 'fork_idle' /project/m32r-linux/kernel/work/linux-2.6_dev.git/arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c:279: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast /project/m32r-linux/kernel/work/linux-2.6_dev.git/arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c:283: error: dereferencing pointer to incomplete type /project/m32r-linux/kernel/work/linux-2.6_dev.git/arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c:289: error: dereferencing pointer to incomplete type /project/m32r-linux/kernel/work/linux-2.6_dev.git/arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c:290: error: implicit declaration of function 'task_thread_info' /project/m32r-linux/kernel/work/linux-2.6_dev.git/arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c:290: error: invalid type argument of '->' /project/m32r-linux/kernel/work/linux-2.6_dev.git/arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c: In function 'start_secondary': /project/m32r-linux/kernel/work/linux-2.6_dev.git/arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.c:429: error: implicit declaration of function 'cpu_init' make[2]: *** [arch/m32r/kernel/smpboot.o] Error 1 <-- snip --> Signed-off-by: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-10-20spelling fixes: arch/m32r/Simon Arlott1-3/+3
Spelling fixes in arch/m32r/. Signed-off-by: Simon Arlott <simon@fire.lp0.eu> Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@kernel.org>
2007-07-30m32r: build fix for removing fs.h from mm.hHirokazu Takata1-0/+1
This patch fixes the m32r build after the commit "Remove fs.h from mm.h" was merged (commit 4e950f6f0189f65f8bf069cf2272649ef418f5e4). Signed-off-by: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-05-08header cleaning: don't include smp_lock.h when not usedRandy Dunlap1-1/+0
Remove includes of <linux/smp_lock.h> where it is not used/needed. Suggested by Al Viro. Builds cleanly on x86_64, i386, alpha, ia64, powerpc, sparc, sparc64, and arm (all 59 defconfigs). Signed-off-by: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-01-11[PATCH] Change cpu_up and co from __devinit to __cpuinitGautham R Shenoy1-1/+1
Compiling the kernel with CONFIG_HOTPLUG = y and CONFIG_HOTPLUG_CPU = n with CONFIG_RELOCATABLE = y generates the following modpost warnings WARNING: vmlinux - Section mismatch: reference to .init.data: from .text between '_cpu_up' (at offset 0xc0141b7d) and 'cpu_up' WARNING: vmlinux - Section mismatch: reference to .init.data: from .text between '_cpu_up' (at offset 0xc0141b9c) and 'cpu_up' WARNING: vmlinux - Section mismatch: reference to .init.text:__cpu_up from .text between '_cpu_up' (at offset 0xc0141bd8) and 'cpu_up' WARNING: vmlinux - Section mismatch: reference to .init.data: from .text between '_cpu_up' (at offset 0xc0141c05) and 'cpu_up' WARNING: vmlinux - Section mismatch: reference to .init.data: from .text between '_cpu_up' (at offset 0xc0141c26) and 'cpu_up' WARNING: vmlinux - Section mismatch: reference to .init.data: from .text between '_cpu_up' (at offset 0xc0141c37) and 'cpu_up' This is because cpu_up, _cpu_up and __cpu_up (in some architectures) are defined as __devinit AND __cpu_up calls some __cpuinit functions. Since __cpuinit would map to __init with this kind of a configuration, we get a .text refering .init.data warning. This patch solves the problem by converting all of __cpu_up, _cpu_up and cpu_up from __devinit to __cpuinit. The approach is justified since the callers of cpu_up are either dependent on CONFIG_HOTPLUG_CPU or are of __init type. Thus when CONFIG_HOTPLUG_CPU=y, all these cpu up functions would land up in .text section, and when CONFIG_HOTPLUG_CPU=n, all these functions would land up in .init section. Tested on a i386 SMP machine running linux-2.6.20-rc3-mm1. Signed-off-by: Gautham R Shenoy <ego@in.ibm.com> Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@in.ibm.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2006-06-30Remove obsolete #include <linux/config.h>Jörn Engel1-1/+0
Signed-off-by: Jörn Engel <joern@wohnheim.fh-wedel.de> Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>
2006-04-11[PATCH] m32r: Fix cpu_possible_map and cpu_present_map initialization for SMP kernelHirokazu Takata1-9/+10
This patch fixes a boot problem of the m32r SMP kernel 2.6.16-rc1-mm3 or later. In this patch, cpu_possible_map is statically initialized, and cpu_present_map is also copied from cpu_possible_map in smp_prepare_cpus(), because the m32r architecture has not supported CPU hotplug yet. Signed-off-by: Hayato Fujiwara <fujiwara.hayato@renesas.com> Signed-off-by: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: <stable@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2006-01-12[PATCH] m32r: task_pt_regs(), task_stack_page(), task_thread_info()Al Viro1-1/+1
Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2005-11-09[PATCH] sched: disable preempt in idle tasksNick Piggin1-0/+1
Run idle threads with preempt disabled. Also corrected a bugs in arm26's cpu_idle (make it actually call schedule()). How did it ever work before? Might fix the CPU hotplugging hang which Nigel Cunningham noted. We think the bug hits if the idle thread is preempted after checking need_resched() and before going to sleep, then the CPU offlined. After calling stop_machine_run, the CPU eventually returns from preemption and into the idle thread and goes to sleep. The CPU will continue executing previous idle and have no chance to call play_dead. By disabling preemption until we are ready to explicitly schedule, this bug is fixed and the idle threads generally become more robust. From: alexs <ashepard@u.washington.edu> PPC build fix From: Yoichi Yuasa <yuasa@hh.iij4u.or.jp> MIPS build fix Signed-off-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Yoichi Yuasa <yuasa@hh.iij4u.or.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2005-08-23[PATCH] m32r smp.h gcc4 fixesAl Viro1-0/+1
extern on physid_2_cpu[] does not belong in smp.h - the thing is static. Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@parcelfarce.linux.theplanet.co.uk> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>