aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/scripts/atomic/check-atomics.sh (follow)
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2019-02-13locking/atomics: Check atomic headers with sha1sumMark Rutland1-6/+20
We currently check the atomic headers at build-time to ensure they haven't been modified directly, and these checks require regenerating the headers in full. As this takes a few seconds, even when parallelized, this is too slow to run for every kernel build. Instead, we can generate a hash of each header as we generate them, which we can cheaply check at build time (~0.16s for all headers). This patch does so, updating headers with their hashes using the new gen-atomics.sh script. As some users apparently build the kernel wihout coreutils, lacking sha1sum, the checks are skipped in this case. Presumably, most developers have a working coreutils installation. Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: anders.roxell@linaro.org Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.rg Cc: naresh.kamboju@linaro.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
2018-11-01locking/atomics: Fix scripts/atomic/ script permissionsIngo Molnar1-0/+0
Mark all these scripts executable. Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: linuxdrivers@attotech.com Cc: dvyukov@google.com Cc: boqun.feng@gmail.com Cc: arnd@arndb.de Cc: aryabinin@virtuozzo.com Cc: glider@google.com Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
2018-11-01locking/atomics: Check generated headers are up-to-dateMark Rutland1-0/+19
Now that all the generated atomic headers are in place, it would be good to ensure that: a) the headers are up-to-date when scripting changes. b) developers don't directly modify the generated headers. To ensure both of these properties, let's add a Kbuild step to check that the generated headers are up-to-date. Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: catalin.marinas@arm.com Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: linuxdrivers@attotech.com Cc: dvyukov@google.com Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com> Cc: arnd@arndb.de Cc: aryabinin@virtuozzo.com Cc: glider@google.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180904104830.2975-6-mark.rutland@arm.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>