aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/scripts/mksysmap (unfollow)
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2015-06-23mksysmap: Add h8300 local symbol patternYoshinori Sato1-1/+1
h8300's nm output have a lot of local symbols. ex) 00000000 N .Lframe0 00000013 N .LLST1 00000026 N .LLST2 00000039 N .LLST3 0000004c N .LLST4 Added new pattern " .L" to filter rule. Signed-off-by: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
2014-08-20kbuild: Make scripts executableMichal Marek1-0/+0
The Makefiles call the respective interpreter explicitly, but this makes it easier to use the scripts manually. Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
2014-06-10kbuild: trivial - remove trailing empty linesMasahiro Yamada1-1/+0
Signed-off-by: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.m@jp.panasonic.com>
2012-07-20trivial: typo in comment in mksysmapMasatake YAMATO1-1/+1
Signed-off-by: Masatake YAMATO <yamato@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
2009-01-14Revert "kbuild: strip generated symbols from *.ko"Sam Ravnborg1-2/+5
This reverts commit ad7a953c522ceb496611d127e51e278bfe0ff483. And commit: ("allow stripping of generated symbols under CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL") 9bb482476c6c9d1ae033306440c51ceac93ea80c These stripping patches has caused a set of issues: 1) People have reported compatibility issues with binutils due to lack of support for `--strip-unneeded-symbols' with objcopy 2.15.92.0.2 Reported by: Wenji 2) ccache and distcc no longer works as expeced Reported by: Ted, Roland, + others 3) The installed modules increased a lot in size Reported by: Ted, Davej + others Reported-by: Wenji Huang <wenji.huang@oracle.com> Reported-by: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu> Reported-by: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com> Reported-by: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
2008-12-19kbuild: strip generated symbols from *.koJan Beulich1-5/+2
This patch changes the way __crc_ symbols are being resolved from using ld to do so to using the assembler, thus allowing these symbols to be marked local (the linker creates then as global ones) and hence allow stripping (for modules) or ignoring (for vmlinux) them. While at this, also strip other generated symbols during module installation. One potentially debatable point is the handling of the flags passeed to gcc when translating the intermediate assembly file into an object: passing $(c_flags) unchanged doesn't work as gcc passes --gdwarf2 to gas whenever is sees any -g* option, even for -g0, and despite the fact that the compiler would have already produced all necessary debug info in the C->assembly translation phase. I took the approach of just filtering out all -g* options, but an alternative to such negative filtering might be to have a positive filter which might, in the ideal case allow just all the -Wa,* options to pass through. Signed-off-by: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@novell.com> Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
2008-05-19kbuild: filter away debug symbols from kernel symbolsSam Ravnborg1-1/+2
Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> reported that he saw a lot of symbols like this: 0000000000000b24 N DW.aio.h.903a6d92.2 0000000000000bce N DW.task_io_accounting.h.8d8de327.0 0000000000000bec N DW.hrtimer.h.c23659c6.0 in his System.map / kallsyms output. Simple solution is to skip all debugging symbols (they are marked 'N'). Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: Paulo Marques <pmarques@grupopie.com>
2006-01-10spelling: s/retreive/retrieve/Adrian Bunk1-1/+1
Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>