aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>2010-01-15 17:01:17 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-01-16 12:15:38 -0800
commit5dab600e6a153ceb64832f608069e6c08185411a (patch)
tree866d05be2255bd4f0c146534741b10c60afe9b79
parentkfifo: add kfifo_initialized (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-5dab600e6a153ceb64832f608069e6c08185411a.tar.xz
linux-dev-5dab600e6a153ceb64832f608069e6c08185411a.zip
kfifo: document everywhere that size has to be power of two
On my first try using them I missed that the fifos need to be power of two, resulting in a runtime bug. Document that requirement everywhere (and fix one grammar bug) Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Acked-by: Stefani Seibold <stefani@seibold.net> Cc: Roland Dreier <rdreier@cisco.com> Cc: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com> Cc: Andy Walls <awalls@radix.net> Cc: Vikram Dhillon <dhillonv10@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--include/linux/kfifo.h4
-rw-r--r--kernel/kfifo.c2
2 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/kfifo.h b/include/linux/kfifo.h
index c8618243ca5a..6f6c5f300af6 100644
--- a/include/linux/kfifo.h
+++ b/include/linux/kfifo.h
@@ -67,7 +67,7 @@ struct kfifo {
/**
* DECLARE_KFIFO - macro to declare a kfifo and the associated buffer
* @name: name of the declared kfifo datatype
- * @size: size of the fifo buffer
+ * @size: size of the fifo buffer. Must be a power of two.
*
* Note1: the macro can be used inside struct or union declaration
* Note2: the macro creates two objects:
@@ -91,7 +91,7 @@ union { \
/**
* DEFINE_KFIFO - macro to define and initialize a kfifo
* @name: name of the declared kfifo datatype
- * @size: size of the fifo buffer
+ * @size: size of the fifo buffer. Must be a power of two.
*
* Note1: the macro can be used for global and local kfifo data type variables
* Note2: the macro creates two objects:
diff --git a/kernel/kfifo.c b/kernel/kfifo.c
index 7384f120be87..32c5c15d750d 100644
--- a/kernel/kfifo.c
+++ b/kernel/kfifo.c
@@ -41,7 +41,7 @@ static void _kfifo_init(struct kfifo *fifo, void *buffer,
* kfifo_init - initialize a FIFO using a preallocated buffer
* @fifo: the fifo to assign the buffer
* @buffer: the preallocated buffer to be used.
- * @size: the size of the internal buffer, this have to be a power of 2.
+ * @size: the size of the internal buffer, this has to be a power of 2.
*
*/
void kfifo_init(struct kfifo *fifo, void *buffer, unsigned int size)