aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJia He <justin.he@arm.com>2020-08-11 18:32:16 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-08-12 10:57:57 -0700
commitd622ecec5f57ee7e27fbc6db222d8cbaf3c59478 (patch)
treed63f3856a96904340ac8f456a108d93332e3cd97 /arch
parentx86/mm: use max memory block size on bare metal (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-d622ecec5f57ee7e27fbc6db222d8cbaf3c59478.tar.xz
linux-dev-d622ecec5f57ee7e27fbc6db222d8cbaf3c59478.zip
mm/memory_hotplug: introduce default dummy memory_add_physaddr_to_nid()
This is to introduce a general dummy helper. memory_add_physaddr_to_nid() is a fallback option to get the nid in case NUMA_NO_NID is detected. After this patch, arm64/sh/s390 can simply use the general dummy version. PowerPC/x86/ia64 will still use their specific version. This is the preparation to set a fallback value for dev_dax->target_node. Signed-off-by: Jia He <justin.he@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Reviewed-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com> Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com> Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com> Cc: Chuhong Yuan <hslester96@gmail.com> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com> Cc: Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org> Cc: Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@Huawei.com> Cc: Kaly Xin <Kaly.Xin@arm.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200710031619.18762-2-justin.he@arm.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/mm/numa.c10
-rw-r--r--arch/ia64/mm/numa.c2
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/mm/init.c9
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/numa.c1
4 files changed, 0 insertions, 22 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c b/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c
index aafcee3e3f7e..73f8b49d485c 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c
@@ -461,13 +461,3 @@ void __init arm64_numa_init(void)
numa_init(dummy_numa_init);
}
-
-/*
- * We hope that we will be hotplugging memory on nodes we already know about,
- * such that acpi_get_node() succeeds and we never fall back to this...
- */
-int memory_add_physaddr_to_nid(u64 addr)
-{
- pr_warn("Unknown node for memory at 0x%llx, assuming node 0\n", addr);
- return 0;
-}
diff --git a/arch/ia64/mm/numa.c b/arch/ia64/mm/numa.c
index 5e1015eb6d0d..f34964271101 100644
--- a/arch/ia64/mm/numa.c
+++ b/arch/ia64/mm/numa.c
@@ -106,7 +106,5 @@ int memory_add_physaddr_to_nid(u64 addr)
return 0;
return nid;
}
-
-EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(memory_add_physaddr_to_nid);
#endif
#endif
diff --git a/arch/sh/mm/init.c b/arch/sh/mm/init.c
index 613de8096335..cd1379360f08 100644
--- a/arch/sh/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/sh/mm/init.c
@@ -425,15 +425,6 @@ int arch_add_memory(int nid, u64 start, u64 size,
return ret;
}
-#ifdef CONFIG_NUMA
-int memory_add_physaddr_to_nid(u64 addr)
-{
- /* Node 0 for now.. */
- return 0;
-}
-EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(memory_add_physaddr_to_nid);
-#endif
-
void arch_remove_memory(int nid, u64 start, u64 size,
struct vmem_altmap *altmap)
{
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/numa.c b/arch/x86/mm/numa.c
index b05f45e5e8e2..aa76ec2d359b 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/numa.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/numa.c
@@ -929,5 +929,4 @@ int memory_add_physaddr_to_nid(u64 start)
nid = numa_meminfo.blk[0].nid;
return nid;
}
-EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(memory_add_physaddr_to_nid);
#endif