aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@siemens.com>2015-02-17 13:46:50 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-02-17 14:34:53 -0800
commitbe02a1862304b126cd6ba4f347fa5db59460a776 (patch)
tree917c8a1c33f6ee6d82d9784fd21a174dc397bc6d /kernel
parentscripts/gdb: add lx-symbols command (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-be02a1862304b126cd6ba4f347fa5db59460a776.tar.xz
linux-dev-be02a1862304b126cd6ba4f347fa5db59460a776.zip
kernel/module.c: do not inline do_init_module()
This provides a reliable breakpoint target, required for automatic symbol loading via the gdb helper command 'lx-symbols'. Signed-off-by: Jan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@siemens.com> Acked-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Ben Widawsky <ben@bwidawsk.net> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel')
-rw-r--r--kernel/module.c9
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/module.c b/kernel/module.c
index 8426ad48362c..b34813f725e9 100644
--- a/kernel/module.c
+++ b/kernel/module.c
@@ -3025,8 +3025,13 @@ static void do_free_init(struct rcu_head *head)
kfree(m);
}
-/* This is where the real work happens */
-static int do_init_module(struct module *mod)
+/*
+ * This is where the real work happens.
+ *
+ * Keep it uninlined to provide a reliable breakpoint target, e.g. for the gdb
+ * helper command 'lx-symbols'.
+ */
+static noinline int do_init_module(struct module *mod)
{
int ret = 0;
struct mod_initfree *freeinit;