aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/tools/perf/util/header.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIan Rogers <irogers@google.com>2021-11-18 00:47:49 -0800
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2021-11-18 10:19:14 -0300
commitb194c9cd09dd98af76beaa32a041af674260d730 (patch)
tree528463fa6a7d4fb545e0164d4addef84d7c64df3 /tools/perf/util/header.c
parentperf report: Fix memory leaks around perf_tip() (diff)
downloadlinux-dev-b194c9cd09dd98af76beaa32a041af674260d730.tar.xz
linux-dev-b194c9cd09dd98af76beaa32a041af674260d730.zip
perf evsel: Fix memory leaks relating to unit
unit may have a strdup pointer or be to a literal, consequently memory assocciated with it isn't freed. Change it so the unit is always strdup and so the memory can be safely freed. Fix related issue in perf_event__process_event_update() for name and own_cpus. Leaks were spotted by leak sanitizer. Signed-off-by: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20211118084749.2191447-1-irogers@google.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/util/header.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/util/header.c8
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/header.c b/tools/perf/util/header.c
index fda8d14c891f..79cce216727e 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/header.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/header.c
@@ -4257,9 +4257,11 @@ int perf_event__process_event_update(struct perf_tool *tool __maybe_unused,
switch (ev->type) {
case PERF_EVENT_UPDATE__UNIT:
+ free((char *)evsel->unit);
evsel->unit = strdup(ev->data);
break;
case PERF_EVENT_UPDATE__NAME:
+ free(evsel->name);
evsel->name = strdup(ev->data);
break;
case PERF_EVENT_UPDATE__SCALE:
@@ -4268,11 +4270,11 @@ int perf_event__process_event_update(struct perf_tool *tool __maybe_unused,
break;
case PERF_EVENT_UPDATE__CPUS:
ev_cpus = (struct perf_record_event_update_cpus *)ev->data;
-
map = cpu_map__new_data(&ev_cpus->cpus);
- if (map)
+ if (map) {
+ perf_cpu_map__put(evsel->core.own_cpus);
evsel->core.own_cpus = map;
- else
+ } else
pr_err("failed to get event_update cpus\n");
default:
break;